windows-formatted hardrive in macos?

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by superfula, Mar 17, 2002.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    #1
    So I'm a pc guy switching to mac here soon. I have a lot of questions....they usually come in spurts. This one should be easy for you guys...

    I have an fat32 formatted 40gig drive with all my install files, some mp3s, and some "free" apps for pc and mac. If I put this in a mac, can i use the drive like normal? If not, is there a program that i could use to see the drives files? Would it work if I used NTFS instead of fat32? :)

    If not, I will end up sticking the drive in a roomates computer, grab the files over our network, then stick the drive in the mac and format.

    Oh...if i use the network option, will that mess up the file names? Especially the mp3s. those are a pain in the but to rename. Let it be known that I know pc apps don't run on mac computers. These are just FILES...not programs :D


    EDIT: another question. Is there a website that has some faq about switching from pc to mac?
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    MacAztec

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    #2
    Nope

    You need to format the drive for the mac. I would put the drive in your friends computer, pull them over to another hard drive, and then re-format the drive in your friends computer to Mac OS X. Otherwise, you will have problems.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    #3
    Ok...thats what I thought. BTW, how would i format the drive in my roomates pc for the mac? Wouldn't i have to format the drive in the mac for it to work with the mac?
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #4
    Yes, format it in the Mac. Just attach the other HD, if the OS doesn't recognize it and prompt you to format it, run "Disk Utility" under OS X or "Drive Setup" under OS 9.
    Welcome to the world of Mac simplicity. No command line and fdisk crap.
    You get GUI apps that make partitions and formatting as easy as can be.
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    MacAztec

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    #5
    You have to do

    You first put the drive in your friends computer. Then copy the files you want to the existing hard drive on your mac. Next, after you have copied all you want, take the drive out of your friends computer. Then, put it in your mac, and put in your OS X or OS 9 CD, whichever one you want to use. Tell it to install ( X or 9 ) onto THAT drive, and check off the box that asks if you want to re-formatt the drive. When you reformat the drive, everything will be erased, and the drive will be ready for the mac.
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6
    Re: You have to do

    If he doesn't want to install the OS on that drive, the way I suggested would be more straightforward. But good advice otherwise! :)
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #7
    How about...

    Can a PC formatted drive be put into a firewire/scsi enclosure and just run as an external?

    That would be ideal because then BOTH the original mac drive and the PC drive could be used. 40 GB would not be fun to transfer over a network! As for the original question, the filenames won't change a bit.

    By the way, what kind of mac is this drive for?
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #8
    Re: How about...

    Firewire enclosures are a good option, too. Portability is a pretty great feature for large storage these days. Don't go with SCSI.

    The drive would still need to be reformatted to HFS/HFS+ to be used on the Mac.

    Good point PB180, and welcome to the forums!
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    kishba

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Location:
    Michigan
    #9
    as long as the drive is fat32 you can use it with os 10

    just hook it up to the secondary ide (if its a powermac) and it will mount in os x

    i did it when i got my mac
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    #10
    ok i'm getting two differing facts. One person says i can use it straight up in a Mac, and the others say no, i can't. I'm inclined to believe the statements of the masses though.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    #11
    Question about Firewire enclousure

    I'm going to buy a 80Gb hd : second hand. It's from Maxtor, and it used to work in a pc. Can i simpely put the hd in the enclousure and format it for mac ?
     
  12. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #12
    Do OS X and OS 9 both recognize fat32 drives? I know they work with PC formatted floppies and zips, but I thought HDs were a different matter.
     
  13. macrumors 68030

    mischief

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Ca
    #13
    there's an easy test:

    Boot into OS X, run the Mac OS Updater from the System prefs screen. Shut down and open the case to insert the HD in the "slave" position. Note: cable select doesn't work on the Mac.


    Put the HD in your G4 tower (I'm assuming that's what you're talking about). Boot. If the HD won't read under X, take it out and do the net transfer.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    IndyGopher

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #14
    The question, "Will a FAT32-formatted HDD work in a Mac" is not as cut and dried as some have made it sound. There are other variables. If the disk was formatted in a Windows 98 (or 95B) machine, and never accessed in an NT, 2000, or XP machine, it will work. The "drive signature" that NT, 2000, and XP write to FAT32 drives totally baffles the Mac.

    Also, your file names (if greater than 32 character) will be mangled if you copy them over a network... at least some of the time. In OS 9, they get mangled consistently. In X, it seems to work sometimes, and not at others. I think it depends if you move them by folder or by file.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    kishba

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Location:
    Michigan
    #15
    umm.... my harddrive had been used in a win2k box on fat32

    everything worked a-ok

    (after copying the data off i simply reformatted it as the apple thing)
     

Share This Page