windows/mac games

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Shadowspirit6, Apr 25, 2006.

  1. Shadowspirit6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    #1
    i am thinking of getting a 17" Mac with 1gb RAM. and i was thinking of putting Win/XP now i have a few questions..:rolleyes:

    1. I saw the system requirments on a MAC for Quake 4 and it says it needs a GHZ of 1.58,... am i still able to play Quake 4 on Win/XP because on Win/XP its says it needs a GHZ of 2.0 or more.

    2. i read this somewhere but is it possble that you can not get a virus on a Mac computer.

    3. Does my graphic card carry over to Win/XP?

    4.since most games uses a processor Intel Pentium 3 & 4, do i still need to worry about the GHZ and processor type since i have a Duo Core Processor?

    5. Is the processor Duo Core and the GHZ of 1.58 kind of low for modern applications and technology (since i have seen GHZs over 3.0)

    6. are Mac users and windoes users able to connect and play with each other on Games such as Doom 3, call of duty etc.


    the questions might be stupid but please try to answer them, i am turning to a mac, thast why i have so many questions :(
     
  2. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #2
    1. Yes
    2. Pretty hard too, very few, if any exist. Once you put Windows on your Mac will be susceptible to Windows virus'
    3. Yes
    4. Core Duo is much newer than P3, P4. Don't worry about it.
    5. The processor is 'low' as it has two cores.
    6. Most games allow this
     
  3. jamesmcd macrumors 6502a

    jamesmcd

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #3
    Oh dear, someone please show him the Megaherz myth. (Pretty old atricle now isn't it?)

    EDIT: Oh and as for the "are Mac users and windoes users able to connect and play with each other on Games such as Doom 3, call of duty etc"...

    If you are using Windows on your mac to play games then it is just like playing with two PCs. If you are using the mac side, then for some games you might have some issues with compatibility. The two versions of the game usually have to be the same, and for some games, like C&C Generals i believe, the mac version will not function in a PC lan.
     
  4. greatdevourer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    #4
    On the Mhz Myth thing (at least Intel are now falling prey to their own tactics) - it's a long-known fact that a 2Ghz Pentium M will pwn the ass off a 3Ghz P4 with ease. Core is based off M, and you've got 2 of 'em ;)
     
  5. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #5
    Actually, believe it or not, Core Duo is based of Pentium M, and Pentium M is based off of....... The good ol' Pentium III Tulatian core.
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    Yup. P4 was the aberration along the way.

    I thought that P-M and the Core CPUS were really more "close cousins" of the PIII rather than its direct descendants though, definitely much closer than the P4 family.

    EDIT: Previous thread about Core Duo including links on how they pretty much smoke all previous Intel CPUs and beat AMD on some key specs. http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=2328255

    B
     
  7. Shadowspirit6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    #7
    i read the thread, so Duo Core GHZ..is actualy like 3.66 GHZ, thats amazing!
     
  8. Gordy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #8
    It took years of AMD smoking them with far lower clock speeds for them to realise their errors.

    Now efficient low power chips are king!
     
  9. Shadowspirit6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    #9
    i just hope the 17" Mac is a great gaming computer, well it has a X1600 graphic card, (which doesnt sound too bad).

    plus, which version is better to buy, the Mac version...or the Windows version?..as in games, like which one will perform better and stuff
     
  10. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #10
    I'd say if it has to be played online and there's a mac version.. get that. If not, get Windows.

    Just try to spend minimal time online with Windows :).
     
  11. bugfaceuk macrumors 6502

    bugfaceuk

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    #11
    I know what my position will be:

    1) If there is a Mac version, get that. Saves re-booting, and the Mac will be my primary OS (unless Vista does two suprising things.... a) has any significant killer feature b) actually releases)
    2) If only Windows version get that
    3) If Mac version comes out later, get that instead and eBay Windows version.
     
  12. Shadowspirit6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    #12
    kk, i just hope the 17" iMac im getting is good enough to get me through heavy games, you know, like Doom 3, F.E.A.R. , half-life
     
  13. Shadowspirit6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    #13
    is the AMD Athlon 3500+ better than the Core Duo ?
     
  14. truz macrumors 6502a

    truz

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    Florida
    #14
    No, neither is a 4000 athlon. They are single core processors. you have to step up to the x2 processors and a 3800 x2 amd is close to a core duo
     
  15. Shadowspirit6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    #15
    wow, i underestimated the power of the core duo, i didnt know it was that powerful (becuase my friend is telling me that his 3500+ will beat my*soon to be* mac)
     
  16. Gordy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #16
    Thats not entirely true , in certain things the 4000 and 3500 are better than the duo's. In others the dual core wins its not a clear cut thing. Certain cpus are better at somethings than others.

    Overall tho the duo's are stonking chips, I've just ordered one to replace the 3.6ghz p4 in my desktop!
     
  17. greatdevourer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    #17
    As said above, it depends. If you're running 64-bit optimised code, it'll be a lot harder to tell them apart.
     
  18. harveypooka macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    #18
    Two of my die hard PC mates are turning Mac now...it's all good.
     
  19. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #19
    I guess that also depends on the 64 bit code. The techreport article I linked to in the other thread implied that in somce cases the 64 bit CPUS performed better with 32 bit OS and apps.

    B
     
  20. DeadPrez macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    #20
    Can someone clear up for me if Duo Core is a 64 bit cpu or a 32 bit one?
     
  21. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  22. Shadowspirit6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    #22
    is there a difference if i play **for example** Quake 4 for Mac and Quake 4 for PC?like performance, frames, etc
     
  23. BurtonCCC macrumors 65816

    BurtonCCC

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Wheaton/Normal, IL
    #23
    I just wanted to clear up something. The Mac hardware has nothing to do with being virus resistant. It's not like your RAM is just like, "No! No viruses! Not welcome here! Move along!"

    Mac OS X is what is extremely virus resistant.

    If you install Windows on your Mac, you will have the same astounding amount of problems with viruses that you would have on a Windows machine. I do believe your Mac OS X will remain as perfect as ever though, even if you get viruses on Windows while using Boot Camp, which you will.

    Daniel.
     
  24. Shadowspirit6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    #24
    i can finally go to a website without worrying of a trojan or a virus..yay
     
  25. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #25

    A very nice feeling indeed! :) :) :)
     

Share This Page