Windows on my new Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by KKP925, Jan 30, 2007.

  1. KKP925 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    #1
    Can someone do me the kind favour of posting a list of exactly what I need to purchase to run Windows Vista on my new mac pro?

    I have heard quite a bit about Bootcamp and Parallels, but am not quite sure exactly what I need to get Windows on my Mac.

    I am needing to run my accounting software, CorelDraw and a few other minor programs. Corel is the "largest" program I need to run.

    My Mac Pro specs are:
    2 x 2.66 GHz Dual-Core, 6GB RAM
    1 x 250GB HD, 1 x 500GB HD
    RadeonX1900 Video

    Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm not new to Mac's, but I AM new to Windows on the Mac!!

    Thanks so much! :D
     
  2. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #2
    1st make sure those programs run on vista.

    then use the search function.
     
  3. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #3
    I don't know if there's much difference between the XP and Vista installation procedure. I'd guess you'd go through the steps in Boot Camp to partition your hard drive into two, then pop in the Vista CD and away you go.

    Apple hasn't released Vista drivers yet for the Intel Macs, but it has been mentioned elsewhere that once Vista is installed, it'll find drivers online for the hardware - I don't know how true that is.
     
  4. KKP925 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    #4
    Thanks for the replys. I have purchased and installed Parallels and Vista Business. This works amazing! Vista runs quite well and quite fast for what I need it for (CorelDraw).

    I assume I don't need Bootcamp??
    Thanks guys! :)
     
  5. hollerz macrumors 6502a

    hollerz

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #5
    Nope, not if your using Parallels!
     
  6. KKP925 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    #6
    Thanks everyone for your help. It has been greatly appreciated! :D
     

Share This Page