Windows Price?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by 7on, Jun 4, 2006.

  1. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #1
  2. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #2
    Yeah, thats a good deal for WindBloze.

    Made me laugh though, I read the reviews and people were raving ''Best OS ever, so simple to use and install, and only a few crashes"

    My Macs crashed once. Wait. Rephrase. ONE of my Macs crashed ONCE, and that was Power Failure :p
     
  3. 7on thread starter macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #3
    My Macbook has crashed once so far. Not kernel panic, just froze up to where I had to hold down my powerbutton. My Keychain got corrupted and had to restore from a backup :( haha, I've been using the same keychain since 10.2 :D I should really start from scratch but think of all the passwords!
     
  4. 7on thread starter macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #4
    Ok I went ahead and purchased. I do feel a little bad though - as I am currently running out of food :( Paycheck the 15th!!!
     
  5. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #5
    See.. Mac or Food.. is obvious... Mac.

    But WinBloze or Food... I'd rather get fat. :)
     
  6. 7on thread starter macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #6

    haha, yeah I did just throw $1500 at the Macbook. I figured an extra $89 wouldn't hurt. I do hate that I can't get it free. My brother is so unorganized. Don't worry though I have a few apples and tunafish left so I should be a'ight ;)
     
  7. Shadowspirit6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    #7
    just one question, was the windows you bought an upgrade or the full version..oops sorry cross that out..nvm :)
     
  8. PatrickF macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Location:
    Blighty
    #8
    It's pretty common practice for PC manufacturers to not include Windows installation discs (Microsoft doesn't like it when full installation discs are bundled - the whole "pirating thing and all")

    What PC manufacturers usually do is provide "restore" discs that actually read the Windows files from a hidden area of the harddrive. The CD itself only contains imaging/restore software.

    Pretty crummy if you ask me!
     
  9. Timepass macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    #9

    even if your brother could find the disk it would be illege to install that copy of windows on you mac book because it is an OEM copy of windows and OEM verson are tied to the computer they are first installed on and are not transferible. Only retail copies are allowed to be moved from one computer to another.
     
  10. gekko513 macrumors 603

    gekko513

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    #10
    Reminds me of a guy living on the same floor as me who wanted to show me his new Dell laptop earlier this week. I asked if he was happy with it. He said: "Yes, it has only blue screened a couple of times. It probably just needs some time to adjust."

    I said nothing, but I thought WTF... :confused:
     
  11. 7on thread starter macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #11
    Well, it wouldn't be. My brother had to get an OEM disk because of all the crap installed on the laptop. Someone stole my brother's laptop. I'm sure reusing that CD would be of non-issue since whoever is using it now isn't using the computer legally. I'm sure it would be fine...
     
  12. macsrockmysocks macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #12

    HP didn't even provide restore disks to restore my computer. It crashed/lost everything 5 times. They wanted me to buy the restore CD from them. I yelled at the guy and hung up on him.
     
  13. garethh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    I was rather shocked when my friend bought an Acer notebook and there were no backup discs. I had no idea it was standard practise. Apple always one ahead!
     
  14. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #14
    I work with multiple brands of corporate machines and IBM are the only company I've seen that don't include restore media mainly because they have the image backed up to a hidden partition. While you guys may think this sucks; having to reinstall and only needing to press 1 button (and a couple more to confirm you want to restore), then waiting a minute is pretty sweet.

    Even though I've never seen any of these machines crash like all you guys say Windows does I'll join in with the Windows sucks thing too, it seems like the thing to say!
     
  15. grockk macrumors 6502

    grockk

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    #15
    nope still illegal. when the computer was stolen the license for windows was stolen too, and the OEM disk is worthless. If you did install, the authentication wouldn't work and you'd have to call microsoft for the code. then when they ask if this has ever been installed on a different computer, you'd say yes and they'd tell you they can not authenticate it.

    I did this when I bought XP Pro from my school thinking I'd install it on my dell and give my parents the copy of XP home I got with my comp. microsoft told me no dice.

    sucks but that's what was purchased. And you can see why the retail version is more expensive.
     
  16. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #16
    Careful. FWIW OEM licenses do not (generally) give you transfer rights. Once you marry an OEM license to a computer, they are inseperable (according to the EULA). This is one reason why OEM licenses are than full packaged product.

    EDIT: Beat by grockk!

    B
     
  17. PatrickF macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Location:
    Blighty
    #17
    The other half's dad bought a PC from Time a few years back and he had loads of problems with it. They also wanted him to "buy" a restore disc. seriously! All this crappy disc had on it was some restore imaging software. It's kind of like saying "You've paid the licence but if you ever mess up your computer we'll charge you for the privilege to use your licence again. Needless to say he complained a lot and they sent him the restore disc (apparently worth about £100!)

    Sure it's handy but the day your harddrive dies is the day you loose the ability to ever restore your operating system again. They should store the files on a DVD and use the same restore software.
     
  18. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #18
    Let's be honest now; the day your hdd dies you lose the ability to restore the OS no matter how it's supplied. I've had this issue once at work and all I did was get a replacement hdd from IBM and they included the restore image on DVD with the hdd. If you really do want a copy of the restore media you can always just buy it. IBM sell it cheap and I'm sure everyone else who does this would allow you to buy it also.
     
  19. d_and_n5000 macrumors 6502a

    d_and_n5000

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #19
    So if the hard drive in my Dell dies in a few years and I get a new drive(and don't want to deal with Dell), i won't be able to use the restore disc I have?

    If this happens, I'll just tell my mom "Screw it, get a Mac mini, I'll get a NIB Apple keyboard and mouse from eBay, you can put Windows on it and reuse the Dell display."

    Sounds like a plan.:D
     
  20. timswim78 macrumors 6502a

    timswim78

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #20
    If the hdd in the Dell fails, just put in a new drive and reload the OS from the restore CD. It's very simple.
     

Share This Page