Windows Switcher needs iTunes help

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jmeche3, Nov 28, 2004.

1. jmeche3 macrumors newbie

Hi. I just switched to Mac about a week ago. I have used os 9 in the past but this is my first time really getting involved in osx and I'm loving it. I have a bit of a problem though. On my windows machine, I have a 2800 song itunes library full of ratings and playlists. I have transferred all of my music over to the Mac and I have tried to transfer the library file, but apparently iTunes on the mac can find none of the songs. I really want to avoid re-adding those songs to the library from scratch because the majority of them I have already rated on my windows machine, and redirecting each individual file to the new file is downright impractical and would take a week. Can anyone aid me in this?

thanks,
    John Meche

2. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

on your windows computer you should have an iTunes library data file and an .xml file, copy both of these over into your Music>iTunes folder on your mac

i think thats what you said you tried to do, but thats the ONLY way i know to get this to work....

3. mj_1903 macrumors 6502a

mj_1903

Do you have an iPod? If so, grab iPodRip from my site below and use the Sync Meta Data tool. It is free for 10 uses so it shouldn't be a problem.

4. jmeche3 thread starter macrumors newbie