Windows to Mac and back

Discussion in 'iPod' started by sublimepolyeste, Aug 26, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    sublimepolyeste

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #1
    I have an ipod classic (80gig) which I just purchased and formatted for Windows.
    At home I work on a Windows XP formatted machine, but at work I work on an imac G5 (Mac OS X 10.4.11). I have had an ipod before and could access it from both machines. Is there anyway I can set it up to be recognized on both machines?
    Thanks.:)
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    nomar383

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Rexburg, ID
    #2
    It should work for both if it is formatted under windows
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    sublimepolyeste

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
  4. macrumors 65816

    nomar383

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Rexburg, ID
    #4
    If it is formatted for Windows leave it. If not, format it again under Windows
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    sublimepolyeste

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #5
    Ok so I went home and reformatted for windows (even though it was already), but still nothing when I try to plug it into the mac. It only charges.
    Any other ideas?
    thanks
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    nomar383

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Rexburg, ID
    #6
    Weird... Did you do a "restore" under windows?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    sublimepolyeste

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #7
    Yes, but actually I think I just solved the problem-I was using a firewire and today I brought in my USB wire and swapped that out and now it seems to be working. Weird.
    Thanks for your help.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    nomar383

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Rexburg, ID
    #8
    The iPod classic should only charge via FireWire, even under Windows. Not sure why it let you do anything extra
     

Share This Page