Windows to Mac conversion experience

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by cbougher, Oct 31, 2006.

1. cbougher macrumors member

I've recently switched from Windows to Mac. I've been using my macbook pro for about six months now. I wanted to post my thoughts on switchinf for those who are thinking about it and to possibly get advice on how to work around the issues I have.

Cons:
    1. No applications menu. It gets old having to either search for the app I want to run or manually creating alias' to place on my cluttered desktop.
    2. Single mouse button.
    3. Having to "Quit" apps. After I've closed the last window I generally want to quit.
    4. Uninstalling apps. I find that just dragging the app to the trash doesn't remove all the other files the program may create like settings and such.

Pros:
    1. I love the interface. It is very intuitive.
    2. It starts fast.
    3. Multiple desktops. Very cool.

Bottom line is I'm having with the Mac and I think other Windows users would be too.

2. killmoms macrumors 68040

killmoms

Just put the Applications folder down in your dock. Then you can right click it to get a pop-up menu of everything in there.
    You've turned on the two-finger right click in the Mouse preferences, right?
    That's just a Mac thing you'll have to get used to. Because the Mac has always had a document-focus, not an application-focus, that's just how it works. I actually prefer it to the Windows method.
    No, it doesn't. But, then again, you really don't NEED to delete those other things. They're just text files, essentially. They do nothing on their own, so it's not really a big deal. And other "big" apps that do create lots of files elsewhere tend to come with uninstallers.

3. colocolo macrumors 6502

All I have to add to the post above me is... buy a multi-button mouse!:)