Windows Vista and WOW. Help Please.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Josephkyles, Sep 25, 2006.

  1. Josephkyles macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #1
    I am thinking about installing Windows Vista on my new iMac, soley for using Ventrilo while playing World of Warcraft. (Currently the Mac version of Ventrilo is crap) I have downloaded the latest version of Vista, to correctly burn it to DVD do I simply drag the disk image to the burn folder? Will Bootcamp work the same as if it were XP? And finally will Ventrilo and World of Warcraft run under Vista?
     
  2. mduser63 macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #2
    You can't just drag the image to the disk icon, you need to use Disk Utility or Toast to burn the .iso file as a disk image to a blank DVD. Otherwise, Vista (assuming it's RC1) installs just fine under Bootcamp, using the same procedure as one would use to install XP.

    Have no idea about WoW under Vista.
     
  3. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #3
    to burn vista to a dvd you either have to use toast or use a burning program on a windows computer. Apparantly, you do not have to do anything different to install vista RC1.

    BTW: bootcamp wont partition my drive:mad:
     
  4. Josephkyles thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #4


    Thanks! Now, how might I use Disk Utility to burn the .iso file as a disk image?
     
  5. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #5
    open disk utility

    Click on the Burn icon.It will prompt you for a file.
    Navigate to the Vista ISO and click on the burn button

    Disk utility will burn the ISO as a bootable install disk.

    I did this 2 days ago.
     
  6. Josephkyles thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #6
    Does it matter if I got the 32 bit edition or the 64 bit edition? I got the 64 because I thought the new iMacs were 64 bit.
     
  7. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #7
    I uninstalled vista as it slowed down my WoW performance when playing in windowed mode. My FPS would drop to about 30-40 with the fancy Aero effect on. If I took that off then my rate went back up. I said forget it and put XP x64 back on. Much better now.
     

Share This Page