Windows Vista Beta 2 Download

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by vouder17, Jun 8, 2006.

  1. vouder17 macrumors 6502a

    vouder17

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Location:
    Home
    #1
    Well here is an interesting tid bit. Maybe you people with Boot camp can try it. Linky

    These people must have CRAZY bandwidth o_O

    Well it would be cool to try it out and give us a review, for those who have BC
     
  2. jaxstate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #2
    Cool beans. I'd load this sucker up, only after some feedback on how it works on Macs.:p
     
  3. panoz7 macrumors 6502a

    panoz7

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #3
    Thanks for the link. I was much more excited about this back when the public beta was supposed to come out in february. Will this run in parallels?
     
  4. beloved84 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    #4
    question. if i install this on my mac, is it hard to unistall?
     
  5. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #5
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=2497333

    I'm going to download it in a couple of days when the initial rush dies down and try it out in Parallels. I'm not excited about it at all, just a nerd who wants to try as many OSs as possible on his Mac.
     
  6. IanF0729 macrumors regular

    IanF0729

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland; Washington, D.C.
    #6
    It will not work on Parallels because the BIOS they use is not ACPI compatible. It is also not possible on an upgrade from an XP.

    I believe the developers who made Parallels have said they they do intend to add support for Vista is in a later version.

    Right now I think the only way to run Vista on your Mac is to install via Boot Camp and delete the EFI partition.
     
  7. beloved84 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
  8. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    cool keep us updated. If it works with the gma950, airport & bluetooth fully supported it will be mighty
     
  9. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #9
    seems sketchy.....take windows XP which as been around a for a while and how flakey that is... now take vista which has been delayed for how many months in a beta :eek:
     
  10. beloved84 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    #10
    when i finished installing vista... it restarted and lead me to this...and it freezes

    [​IMG]
     
  11. jdiddy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #11
    Finally got the first part of the install done. I'm reparing the MBR as we speak. 4 OS's on a single laptop I can't wait.
     
  12. jdiddy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #12

    Rerun the install but instead of a full install do a repair install of the MBR. Heres a link to the full instructions
    http://blogs.msdn.com/hans_vb/archiv...03/615869.aspx


    I just finished the repair part and its restarting again wohoo!
     
  13. beloved84 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
  14. Bubbasteve macrumors 65816

    Bubbasteve

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #14
    here buddy
     
  15. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #15
    I have it downloading now. I can use this under Boot Camp to use my Windows only software, right?
     
  16. Bubbasteve macrumors 65816

    Bubbasteve

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #16
    According to this blog you can...downloading as well
     
  17. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #17
    Cool, thank you Bubbasteve! :)
     
  18. jdiddy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #18
    06-08-06_1808.jpg I got it working on my 2.0 MB the fan got loud as hell though. Wired ethernet works out of the box. No sound, wireless, BT out of the box. Generic Video drivers. I'll keep you all updated as soon as I get home. To the other poster that was at the same point as me. Follow those directions that I linked you to. I was stuck at the same point but by doing the repair isntall I got it working with no issues. Good luck.
     
  19. macsrockmysocks macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #19
    Dude, I want it so bad. Is there any place I can get it besides microsoft's website? I have my product key already, but it says it is too busy.
     
  20. treblah macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
    #20
    EDIT: Removed link to the x86 English .iso

    It worked for me earlier today when the MS page said too busy…

    Only 9 minutes left!
     
  21. macsrockmysocks macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #21
    Says access denied... Hmm... I wonder if anyone could send me the ISO in an email or something?
     
  22. Bubbasteve macrumors 65816

    Bubbasteve

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #22
    This is from the blog link I supplied...

    "1) Network drivers:
    I’ve been told that the wired network card should work out of the box but the wireless network card doesn’t even if it shows in the Device Manager. In my case, what did you expect, none of them worked.
    I downloaded the Yukon Gigabit drivers for XP here: http://marvell.com/drivers then updated the driver for my ethernet card (Or it could have been that I updated the driver for the so called wireless card with this driver too. There was something twisted.) with a version 853 or something like that. Sorry I can’t be more precise. Now the driver version for the card shows as 9.0.16.3. Once the wired connection worked, I ran Windows Update and that detected and installed the driver for the wireles card. So now both are working."

    try that if you could
     
  23. macsrockmysocks macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #23
    WTF?! I went back to try to download it again, and it says that I have the largest amount of product keys I can have! Well, I haven't downloaded it yet. So I am sort of you know what.
     
  24. treblah macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
    #24
    I got an error during the 1st copying files part 68% into it and could only hard reboot. :mad: I'll try again tomorrow when I have more time.
     
  25. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #25
    Is this thing Free? I thought for sure Microsoft charged for everything. :confused: :D
     

Share This Page