windows vista on boot camp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by wasd, Jan 30, 2007.

  1. wasd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    #1
    Since windows vista is out now, I was wondering will it work on boot camp. For example following the same set up on the windows xp installation on boot camp.
    Thanks
    Ken
     
  2. fiercetiger224 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    #2
    You should be able to install Vista on your Mac, but Apple doesn't provide the final drivers for it now. I've heard that Microsoft already has drivers for whatever Mac that you are installing it on. You just have to go to Windows Update to get the drivers that you are missing. I'm waiting to get my copy of Vista so that I can confirm it.

    Meanwhile, what Mac are you trying to install it on?
     
  3. sixth macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #3
    I am running it now with no issues. Ultimate + MBP C2D. You have to manually install the drivers though, as apple does not supply the vista ones....otherwise its running PURRRFECT for me.

    Enjoy!
    edit- should mention that my sound stutters..still working on that..seems like a driver issue.
     
  4. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #4
    where did you get your ultimate so fast?
     
  5. sixth macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #5
    Still working on drivers for sound issues. I should have been more straight...i have the beta rc2 (which is ultimate) and i am picking up ultimate today at best buy as soon as i can get there!
     
  6. dragon2611 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    #6
    xp drivers mostly work on vista.

    theres a commandline argument u can use on the mac driver setup to get it to extract the drivers from the file.

    Install Macintosh Drivers for Windows XP.exe" /A /v
     
  7. wasd thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    #7
    I'm installing this on a macbook pro core duo. Do i need the 32 bit? or is there only one version for both types.
     
  8. Me1000 macrumors 68000

    Me1000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #8
    my guess its a RC
     
  9. jamesmcd macrumors 6502a

    jamesmcd

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #9
    I installed Vista Ultimate on my iMac yesterday into a clean partition (no XP).

    I didn't have to touch any driver cd at all, everything (apart from iSight, IR) works perfectly. No problem with sound or Video with Vista drivers.
     
  10. polishmacuser macrumors 6502a

    polishmacuser

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #10
    does anybody know if ultimate will work for a macbook core duo 2Gb ram. post a pic if you can. i would like to know thanks
     
  11. mzeb macrumors member

    mzeb

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    #11
    MacBook Core Duo Vista

    Vista on a MacBook core duo (Rev A) with 2GHz/2GB is a dream. I've been running on this machine for the past 6 months and have had good luck. (I'm one of the devs on vista if anyone is wondering.) And now I can finally post this. Here's what works and what doesn't:

    1) Graphics: there is a wddm driver for the GMA 950. That means that if you have more than 512MB of RAM you get glass. It's in the Vista Box. The brightness control causes issues with UAC. It will ask for permission to launch whenever you log in.
    2) Sound: The sigmatel driver included in the Vista Box works, but it takes a small registry hack. A key has to be added. Alternately if you unpack apples drivers the sigmatel driver in apple's drivers works without the hack.
    3) Networking: Both wired and wireless in box.
    4) Trackpad: the default trackpad driver for Vista works, but you don't get any advanced features (ie. no two finger click). You can install the apple trackpad driver and get the same functionality as in XP. There's a catch. The driver doesn't come out of sleep properly. Apple knows about this. I've been using a program called AutoHotkey in the interim.
    5) Keyboard: apple keyboard support works great. No problems.
    6) Bluetooth: getting this working is a bit of a trick, but it does work. Both my mighty mouse and my Motorola E815 work in Vista with apple's bluetooth support. It must be installed manually through device manager.

    Hope this helps everyone. I'll be keeping an eye on mac support from the inside ;-). I am proud of Vista and it's a solid OS. The first windows OS I can work on. It's well worth dual booting. On the note of hardware, Apple still has it down. The Mac is the best Windows machine to date :). Thanks. Post here and I'll try to keep checking back.
     
  12. Lovesong macrumors 65816

    Lovesong

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Stuck beween a rock and a hard place
    #12
    Min VRAM for Ultimate= 128MB
    Macbook VRAM= 64MB
    So...sorry, mate
     
  13. polishmacuser macrumors 6502a

    polishmacuser

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #13
    thanks alot well i ran rc1 on my macbook and the drivers didnt really work. But besides that it looked nice. And finally a stable windows OS(hopefully)
     
  14. polishmacuser macrumors 6502a

    polishmacuser

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #14
    another question how many gb would you really recommend. It worked fine for 30 Gb but still. should i get a bigger hard drive or what.?
     
  15. mzeb macrumors member

    mzeb

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    #15
    HD Space

    Well, for me, I went with the stock 60 Gig and things are a little tight with both OS's. But it all depends on what you plan to do with your machine. Personally, I'm looking to upgrade to a 160G 7200 RPM drive in the near future (it's a pretty easy upgrade if your so inclined). Go for a bigger drive if it's not too late.
     
  16. dudiak macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    #16
    Mac Pro and Windows Vista

    I've worked with Vista on a Mac Pro using boot camp and have not found it to be the easiest installation. Windows Vista has trouble being made the secondary partition on a secondary drive and will not allow you to install it from booting the DVD under certain conditions. A general workaround I found to any issues with Vista not being satisfied with the drive configuration is rather simple and also works if XP is already on the machine and it won't upgrade:
    • Install Windows XP (if not already on)
    • Start Windows XP
    • Open Vista installer from XP and do a custom install
    • Have the installer leave the partitions intact, but move the XP stuff to a folder (Windows.old)
    This setup will keep your partition setup exactly the way Boot Camp likes it for XP (no removal of the EFI partition, for example) and opens up some less conventional options like installing on the second, third, or fourth drive on the Mac Pro even if Vista won't let you. Beyond that, the Mac Pro seems to run very well with Vista. Sound and graphics drivers work fine, although the sound drivers seem to take a little work to get just right. Also, it does not seem currently possible to use the Boot Camp installation of Vista with the new RC for Parallels like you can with XP (i.e. dual boot and virtualize from one install of the OS on a physical partition). It may be possible soon, as Parallels seems to get updated quickly or there may be some particular tinkering that makes it work.
    Personally, after working with Vista for a little while, I think I prefer Windows XP since I only use Windows for a few games and programs from time to time and don't need an OS that uses 512MB of RAM when it idles to do that. The performance hit of going from XP to Vista is similar to going from Mac OS 9.1 to Mac OS 10.0 and Vista can be almost as buggy in parts. The best bet is to wait for a little more optimization and patches. Besides, by then Boot Camp and Parallels will have much better native support for Vista.
     
  17. balahir macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Location:
    Sweden
    #17
    I can also verify that Vista Ultimate runs perfectly on both my machines, an iMac C2D and a MBP CD. All hardware is found and drivers correctly installed and updated. I am using the localized Swedish version of Vista, and I had no issues with my Apple BT keyboard and mouse for the iMac, worked right out of the box. When I tried the english RTM version a couple of months ago, I had to have a USB keyboard during the installation. Also, everytime I booted into Vista, it could not find the BT keyboard. Had to switch off and on the keyboard every time.

    However, I do experience the same issues as described above, lack of drivers for iSight and for right-click on the track pad on the MBP. Does anybody know if Apple will update BootCamp now when Vista is officially released, with new Vista drivers?

    I have always used a mix of Windows machines and Macs, but Vista on the iMac C2D is the fastest PC I have had...
     
  18. dragon2611 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    #18
    Nope

    Macbook Vram= 0mb (it uses shared memory)

    Macbook RAM allocated to GMA950 under OSX = 64mb.

    Macbbook RAM allocated to GMA950 under windows = upto 224MB depending on how much ram you have (you need 1gb or more for it to allocate 224mb)
     
  19. marioman38 macrumors 6502a

    marioman38

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    #20
    "I am running it now with no issues. Ultimate + MBP C2D. You have to manually install the drivers though, as apple does not supply the vista ones....otherwise its running PURRRFECT for me."

    Exactly the same here... (My sound doesn't studder though)

    The Ambient Light Sensor even works with the display/backlight keyboard, with a little help from "input remapper" its actually kinda cool...

    My airport didnt work, but i manually installed it by going to the "hardware manager" and telling it to search for drivers where i extracted them from the bootcamp cd...
     
  20. iProd macrumors regular

    iProd

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    #21
    Hey, so about the trackpad. Can you tell me how to get it to work? That'd be great if you could. Thanks :D
     
  21. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #22
    How compatible are xp programs with vista. could i run ProEngineer and mathcad for example? Or should I hold onto xp
     
  22. MagicWok macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #23
    More questions... lol

    Is there a way I could install Vista, using Bootcamp or otherwise, onto an external HDD via FW800? Just wondering if it is possible, so I wouldn't have to partition my internal HDD in my MBP.

    Cheers!
     
  23. ex-hp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #24
    Right on, same question.

    In addition, I heard that the upgrade versions of Vista require XP to be ALREADY INSTALLED. You can't make a clean installation of Vista without XP already being installed. Is this true? And if so, Microsoft, why do you hate us users so?
     
  24. sixth macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #25
    Went from RC2 to ultimate today..running perfect. Audio still crankling,, not sure what that is about, and there is no right click on the trackpad (just using my mouse)....otherwise its perfect...apple just needs to update its drivers for vista and it will be even better...

    Edit- Sounds works perfect now...has anyone figured out how to get the audio buttons to control the master volume? When I use the buttons it just changes the audio level on the keyboard control program and not the main sound on the MBP...any ideas?
     

Share This Page