Windows Workgroup Issue

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by ihparker, Oct 25, 2003.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    #1
    However, when I try to add a printer, my workgroup does not appear. Under Windows Printing, all I get is "Workgroup", not "Parker_Home". I am thinking that it is possible that the underscore may be giving 10.3 a problem, but that would not explain why everything is smooth in Network, but not in Printer Add.

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #2
    Re: Windows Workgroup Issue

    Go to Applications/Utilities and run Directory Access. Select SMB, then click Configure. Now, enter your workgroup name. Viola!

    HTH
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    #3
    Thanks Dave

    That did the trick. Nice if Apple would have documented it in the help file.

    Now I can see the printer although I still can't print to it with using the Gimp drivers.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #4
    I can add my workgroup name TERABYTE in the Directory Access and it sees TERABYTE when go to add a printer, but my printer doesn't show up.

    I've also tried to use SMB printing and that doesn't work either. What would be the correct path for this?

    ex. smb://????


    I've set the Windows machine (XP Pro) to accept incoming connections to other computers with lpt1.

    My iMac is connected to my PC with a 5 port ethernet hub. I can see the computer and get/send files back and forth between the two, but my iMac can't see my parallel printer! (Epson Action Laser 1100)

    FYI: The printer works fine on the Windows side.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA

Share This Page