Windows XP games on Mac Pro via boot camp: I still need PC?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tyr123tyr, Aug 13, 2006.

  1. tyr123tyr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    #1
    Need advice, please.

    I planning to buy & use in home mac pro / OS X for publishing job tasks. But now I also have in home PC (Win XP, 3GHz, 2Gb Ram, geForce 6800 Ultra). I use it for games – Half-Life 2, Counter Strike Source, Oblivion, Prey, etc.

    So, I read all this forums & still have a question. I really need a PC for a games If I take Mac Pro (2,63 GHz, x1900)? Or I may sell my PC & use Win XP on Mac Pro via boot camp? I planned use computer in home at least four hour per day (50% working, 50% gaming).

    How about HD-speed in Windows XP on Mac Pro via boot camp? How about game-FPS in Windows on Mac Pro via boot camp? How about stability, full Direct X support, sound, etc…?

    I want use OS X for a works & Windows XP for games on Mac Pro via boot camp. Is its really? Or I shouldn’t sell my PC right now?
     
  2. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #2
    I think you're confused about what Boot Camp is. Boot Camp is not some application that runs beneath Windows in the vein that VirtualPC did on PPC Macs. Boot Camp is a small program that creates a CD with Windows drivers on it and places a boot loader into the start-up to allow you to choose which OS you want to boot into.

    Once you run Boot Camp once, you need never run it again. With Windows installed and the system drivers provided on the CD you burnt you now have a Windows PC that looks like a Mac. There is no performance slow down because Windows is running natively on your Mac.

    HD Speed = same,
    FPS = same
    Stability = same
    etc.

    You get the point.

    Currently Boot Camp is not available for the Mac Pro because it needs to be updated with drivers for that system but once it is you'll be fine.

    To summarise, you're not "running Windows via Boot Camp" you run Boot Camp once and then you can choose to run OS X or Windows fully natively. To OS X your computer is a Mac, to Windows it's just another PC. To swap to the other OS you just reboot, hold down the option key and select the OS you want. OS X or Windows, there is no performance hit - both run natively on the Mac.
     
  3. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #3
    Thats a great explanation on Boot Camp Chundles. bravo:)
     
  4. Mr. Mister macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    #4
    Boot Camp is just a little helper application that makes Windows XP an easy little thing to install, it basically allows you to choose how much of your HD to devote to Windows and then gets the drivers you'll need for your graphics card, ethernet, etc etc to work on the XP side.

    Boot Camp only runs that once you install Windows. It's not what is constantly running for Windows to run on a Mac, it's not some sort of application that you run to use Windows programs in Mac OS X, it's just a simple installer.
     
  5. tyr123tyr thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    #5
    Sorry for my Eanglish language. I understand how boot camp works.

    But on this forum I read a report about slow HDD-speed in Win XP on Mac Pro... So, thats I posted the question about difficult choise: have in one room PC & Mac Pro, or take Mac Pro & sell PC.

    And the last one... This is right - ? "Currently Boot Camp is not available for the Mac Pro" But on many mac's forum I read reports about Win / boot camp / Mac pro...

    I confused... Can anybody talk me, whats prefered for my tasks:

    - PC & Mac Pro
    - Mac Pro only & install on Mac Pro Win XP?

    Many thanks.
     
  6. quruli macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #6
    HDD speed is more than likely a driver issue, once Apple has (or maybe already has) new drivers which include the Mac Pro. This shouldn't be an issue.

    So you could sell your PC. Do the Mac Pro and install XP option.
     
  7. thegreatluke macrumors 6502a

    thegreatluke

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Location:
    Earth
    #7
    Remember that for every new Intel Mac that Apple puts out they need to add drivers for that computer to Boot Camp.

    So, naturally, it would take a few days (or weeks ;)) for Boot Camp to be updated. Apple always does things this way.

    According to Apple's Boot Camp page, the Mac Pro is not quite supported yet. I'm sure it'll be updated soon though.

    When running Boot Camp it's like running Windows on any computer- a Dell, a Toshiba, a Sony - whatever - with the same specs as your Mac Pro. There's really no difference.
     
  8. tyr123tyr thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    #8
    Thanks. But how people use boot camp on Mac Pro now - on forums I read a lots of review about it...?

    And on this page I find only this topics:

    Requirements
    To use Boot Camp Beta, you need:

    An Intel-based Macintosh computer with a built-in or USB keyboard and a built-in trackpad or USB mouse
    Mac OS X 10.4.6 or later
     
  9. omfgninja macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    #9


    Hey Tyr123tyr, I am in the same situation as you. I have a gaming PC, but am now buying this Mac to do most of my work on.
    My advice to you:
    Keep reading the forums and wait until Apple releases drivers for bootcamp, once they do, sell your PC.
     
  10. Chone macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #10
    I'm on the same track, except I won't sell my PC, it is in need of an upgrade but if the Mac Pro can play games well (and even if it can't, a Mac pro is still coming my way) then I can wait to upgrade my PC and make it a monster rig.
     
  11. JNaut macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #11
    You don't even need Boot Camp if you have an extra hard drive to toss in your machine. Just boot up with a Windows install CD and you're good to go.
     
  12. peas macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    #12
    is there a way to do this without needing the windows cd every time?
     
  13. Mr. Mister macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    #13
    Has this page been updated since you posted, or are you lying to us? :p

    Explain please, I'm dying to know.
     
  14. JNaut macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #14
    Well, I was assuming you would install Windows to the hard drive you put in there... :eek:
     
  15. eenu macrumors 65816

    eenu

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #15
    I didnt think you could install windows on a Mac even if you had a second HD by just putting the windows CD in!

    From bootcamp page:

    "EFI and BIOS

    Macs use an ultra-modern industry standard technology called EFI to handle booting. Sadly, Windows XP, and even the upcoming Vista, are stuck in the 1980s with old-fashioned BIOS. But with Boot Camp, the Mac can operate smoothly in both centuries."
     
  16. Krevnik macrumors 68030

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #16
    Well, part of Bootcamp is a firmware update to the iMac/Mac Mini/MacBook Pros (Firmware Update 1.0.0). The MacBook and the Mac Pro both come with this update already part of the firmware. This firmware is what lets you boot Windows, not Boot Camp. Boot Camp just makes managing a single HDD with both OS X and Windows easier, and it also burns you a driver disc, that is about it.

    The Mac Pro changes things since it can have multiple /internal/ hard drives (unlike every other product in the line)... so you don't /have/ to split your hard drive for Windows, and as it comes with the firmware update, the only reason you need Boot Camp to be updated is to get the updated drivers CD that will install on the Mac Pro.
     
  17. Origin macrumors regular

    Origin

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Nantes, France
    #17
    Nothing to add, its EXACTLY the truth :)


    In fact, we don't use any part of the "Boot camp" application while running Windows on Intel'Mac. The key is EFI Firmware upgrade.
     
  18. Cowinacape macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Location:
    Surrey B.C. Canada
    #18
    I don't want to seem dense (but I am sure I will) here, but I have ordered a mchine the same as the original posters. Am I correct in what I am reading here, that if I slap say a 200gig drive in one of the open HDD bays, I can simply install my copy of XP on to that drive and that's it, I can run XP and play my games that way? No need for boot camp or anything else?
     
  19. Origin macrumors regular

    Origin

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Nantes, France
    #19
    Yes, you press the "alt" key at boot and you select your operating system, and boom ... it boots :D

    The only things needed to run XP in optimal conditions is the drivers. Thats what Bootcamp allows you : to burn a Driver CD. In fact, for now, this CD do not include any MacPro diver. So, two options for you :

    1. wait for a new release of bootcamp to get all the drivers directly from Apple
    2. get all the drivers mannualy on the net (via the official Intel, NVidia or ATI driver pages)
     
  20. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #20
    No

    No, you can't. And boot camp isn't even a program, it's a one time update deal.
    You would install boot camp and THEN toss xp on another drive and go.
     
  21. Origin macrumors regular

    Origin

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Nantes, France
    #21
    I must say that you're wrong, I already installed Windows XP without any bootcamp launch but AFTER the firmware upgrade, of course. It was on my MacBook Pro.
     
  22. Chone macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #22
    Bootcamp is only a way to make the process as Apple-like as possible, only thing needed is the firmware update to allow the machines to use BIOS and thats that, Bootcamp makes it all easier by preparing the partition for you, giving you a step by step WinXP install guide, burning the drivers for you in a CD.

    If you can get your own drivers, set up the partition without BC andyou know how to install WinXP, you won´t ever need to touch bootcamp.

    However, its a lot easier to let Bootcamp do the partitions (if you have a single hdd) and burn the drivers for you, I believe you actually NEED some of Apple´s drivers as the versions found on the net are incompatible in some cases, though I have yet to confirm this.
     
  23. L int. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Amersfoort, NL
    #23
    Hi, I'm new in this forum, and seriously considering a MacPro...

    I red the posts, and I am a little confused.

    does that mean, when i get the machine with two HD's, I can use one of them for windows ONLY - I am a kind of scared to have all that windows waste together with the OSX stuff on one HD.

    I would feel better if i just can delete the whole windows drive, and install a new OS instead (e.g. vista, once it is available), without touching anything of the OSX stuff - I will use windows just for one or two applications, which can't be runned under OSX.
     
  24. CyberDoberman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    #24

    No, you Wouldn't.

    I've not installed BootCamp on MY MAC PRO whatsoever, HOWEVER...

    The ONLY OS I have loaded is Windows XP.

    It boots right off the CD...

    The ONLY THING BOOT CAMP IS is a Driver Disk and a Repartitioning Tool for Mac OS X.

    IT IS NOT NEEDED TO RUN XP WHATSOEVER.

    What makes this possible is a compatibility layer installed BY APPLE NOW AT THE FACTORY inside the EFI Bios.

    Previously, All Macs included as part of Boot Camp this Bios Update which was REQUIRED to boot XP on the Mac.

    THIS IS NOT NEEDED ANYMORE AS THE MAC PRO SHIPS FROM APPLE WITH THIS COMPATIBILITY LAYER ALREADY INSTALLED.

    TO RECAP:

    You do NOT need BootCamp or ANYTHING LIKE IT to run XP.

    I installed the XP SP2 Disc, formatted the ENTIRE OS X Partition (effectively deleting OS X altogether), and XP installed without a hitch.

    One I found the right drivers for everything, the only thing that doesn't work right is the Hard Disk Speed.

    There are some exclamation points in the CPU section of the PCI Express Bridge in the Hardware Device Manager section of XP. I'll GUARANTEE that these are causing the disk issues....

    To the original poster:

    JUST BECAUSE THE DRIVES ARE SLOW DOESN'T MEAN YOU CAN'T PLAY GAMES. I played QUAKE 4 at High Quality * 1280x1024 & 4x AA for hours last night.

    Works great. Just takes a few minutes to load :D

    THIS WILL BE FIXED IN A DRIVER UPDATE IN THE FUTURE.

    You are able to 100% throw away your PC :) I promise.

    This is simply JUST LIKE when the MacBook Pro was released. It was about 2 to 3 weeks before new BootCamp XP Drivers were released by Apple.

    A couple months later, I tried again (on my MacBook Pro), and it worked flawlessly.

    So, no worries mate... It'll be working flawlessly soon enough ;)
     
  25. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #25
    Yes.
     

Share This Page