Windows XP gaming on Macbook Pro! Half life 2 runs buttery smooth!

Discussion in 'Games' started by lfh284, Jun 8, 2006.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    #1
    I haven't ever posted on macrumors, but I thought i should share this with people. I ran bootcamp and installed Windows XP home edition on my macbook pro 2 Ghz yesterday, and to test it out, installed my friends copy of Half Life 2. It runs absolutely buttery smooth, with all the settings turned up to high, and even when the laptop is unplugged. In fact, it runs better than it does on his Thinkbook, which also runs at 2 ghz! Basically, i can now run every game i ever wanted to play on my macbook. And I dont have to pay a premium mac price. Who the hell is still going to buy mac games, and why arent people posting more about this, this is a huge developement.
     
  2. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Remember to designate macbook PRO in your post (other than just the thread) as the fundemental difference in gpu, but YAY! I'm happy for you :)
     
  3. macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #3
    Is that a buttery smooth 20 FPS? or a buttery smooth 70FPS. I would play the game through then tell us. Some later levels in the game will stress that system a lot more believe me. I cant remember the name of the level but its when you have to open up a big wall/barracade and your under constant attack. 3/4 of the way through the game. I doubt it will be buttery smooth but posting frame rates is the best way for others to tell what you are getting because whats smooth to you may not be to others.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    #4
    Frame Rates

    By buttery smooth i mean that with the highest resolution possible, there is absolutely no choppiness. It looks like a movie, so i assume the frame rate would have to be at LEAST 30. I don't know how to find the exact frame rate. I only got an hour or two into the game, but have already been in situations where there is plenty of action, and there is no slow down. If there was a slowdown later in the game, which i doubt looking at the way its playing now, one could still reduce the resolution to the standard 1024 by 768. Im going to try to run the FEAR demo later to see if the MBP can handle that too, I hear its even more demanding than HL2. There is absolutely no reason why everyone shouldnt install windows on their intel macs, besides the fact that PC games play exceedingly well, everything within Windows works too once the drivers that come with Bootcamp are installed. Its like having two computers in one. And its foolproof, if anything with windows were to go wrong, one can reboot using OSX, and use Bootcamp to erase the windows partition, leaving the computer exactly as it was before the windows install.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    #5
    Frame Rates

    What surprises me is that, when running the Doom 3 demo in OSX, which, correct me if i'm wrong, is less demanding than HL2, my MPB performs abysmally. Even on low settings, frame rates are around 10 fps. Why is there such a HUGE difference between running games on OSX as opposed to Windows? I really think that mac gaming can be burried now that Bootcamp is out
     
  6. 7on
    macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #6
    It's mostly OpenGL's fault. Apple needs to get in there and improve OpenGL or develop their own new APIs that throw DX to shame.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #7
    Doom 3 is more demanding (on a computer) than HL2.

    Although in my opinion HL2 looks better.

    Doom 3 has real-time shadows. FEAR does as well...FEAR has soft-shadows too if you can swing it.
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    poppe

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    Woodland Hills
    #8
    Please some one hurry and get F.E.A.R. results I'm dying to see them!!

    FEAR on a Pentium 4 2Ghz 1 Gig of Ram and 256 MB V Card (dont know which one) ran horribly... There are four settings for resolution if I can recall and I had to put it on the second to last along with something else so the game would not be choppy... It looked like original doom shadding...(no doom was clearer...)
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #9
    I just finished playing some of the demo of F.E.A.R on a MBP and it runs great. I don't know how get FPS info. If someone tells me, I'll do it. But just from playing the game, it runs smooth as butter!:D
    I have 1G of RAM
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    #10
    I don't know about F.E.A.R., but to display the running framerate in Half-Life 2, make sure you enabled the developer console in the "Advanced..." settings under the keyboard options tab in the Options menu. From there, press the tilde (~) key and type in "net_graph 1" (minus the quotes). You'll be shown the current number of frames per second in the corner. When you're finished, set it back to "net_graph 0" to turn it off again.

    I'm really excited to hear your results; I'm going to be getting a MacBook Pro soon, and I've wanted as detailed an analysis on Half-Life 2's performance on the system that I could get from someone who's actually seen it in action.

    With screen resolution and video settings all set to max, what's the average FPS you get in fairly busy parts of the game (a good example would be the trainstation courtyard with the giant monitor in the first chapter, right when you open those large front doors and walk down the steps -- that scene is notorious for being a real framerate killer on some systems)? Can you compare that with the difference in performance when you tune down Antialiasing and Anisotropic Filtering to only 2x each? Thanks!

    Oh, and can you please share the full specs of your machine (VRAM, RAM, screen size)?
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #11
    Sorry for being such a noob on getting fps info, but I couldn't get it to work on FEAR. I was running the screen resoultion set to 1024x768, and the rest of the setting to whatever the defaults are. No slowdown what so ever. I've only been playing for 40 minutes (keep getting killed), and I haven't encounted a scene that was very busy, but i'm sure it won't be a problem.
    128 vram, 1g ram, 15" screen. This game is great. I'm glad I sprung for the MBP over the MB.
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #12

    Come on 10.5. 4 revisions so far and they havn't gotten it right yet?
     
  13. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #13
    FEAR has it's own benchmarking :rolleyes:

    Go into performance options and in that area you will get 'test settings' if you run that it runs a benchmarking demo.

    I got 47 fps with my iMac 2ghz, 256mb ram
     
  14. macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #14
    Unless I've missed a recent release - the Doom3 demo is a PowerPC app, and thus is running effectively in emulation. It's actually impressive it's getting the framerates that it is!
     
  15. macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #15
    If you really want to stress test your MBP, try running the Lost Coast technology demo, you probably purchased it when you bought HL2?

    Now that went a lot further towards bringing my MBP to it's knees, although it did look gorgeous.
     
  16. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #16
    Yeah there are some anomolies on my imac with it though.
    If I enable say AA, some of the coastline goes pink?

    Also there doesnt seem a HUGE difference between HDR and bloom?

    I was getting just under 60 FPS average at 1344x840 on my imac core duo 256mb gpu.
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #17
    I looked and didn't see any "test settings" menu.
     
  18. macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #18
    Can't saw I noticed the pink coastline (but then I am a little colour blind, so who knows?) ;)

    The only difference I'm aware of between HDR and bloom is the way reflections are drawn on wet or shiny surfaces - you can see it on the wet rocks in the Lost Coast, and I noticed it in HL2-Episode 1 as well.
     
  19. macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #19
    Incidentally, recently Steam/HL2 has been prompting me to update the graphics drivers on my MBP - should I use those or keep the drivers Apple provided?
     
  20. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #20
    I'd say keep the mac ones. Simply because when the hackers had xp up and running they were unabble to get video card drivers to run properly. The standard ATI catalyst ones - wouldnt install.

    Hence until apple update bootcamp with more recent drivers, stick with what you have.


    Mmm? Should be there under performance test / check settings / check performance. Cant remember how its phrased exactly, dont make me go install fear again :)

    Just fire up the game, choose "Options" in the main menu, then choose "Performance." There's a "Test settings" menu item that will run through a short scripted sequence using the current graphics and CPU settings and spit out a set of numbers: minimum, maximum, and average frames per second. We're primarily interested in the average FPS, but if you're tweaking the settings on your own personal system for a good play experience, you might want to make note of the minimum value as well.
     
  21. macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #21
    Makes sense, thanks. The gaming performance of the MBP is fine, it's just in WMV playback the colour palettes are all wrong.
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #22
    I opened the game. Went under "Options" then "Performance". Under Performance the only options were "Auto-detect" "Computer" "Graphics Card" "Advanced Computer Options" and "Advanced Videocard Options"
     
  23. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #23
    And at the bottom of that screen, should be test settings?? strange your not getting it :confused: 100% definetly it should be there. Change a setting and choose ok, and see if it appears...
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #24
    Made the changes, that option doesn't appear.
    FYI I chaged some of the setting to maximum, it gives a warning, "Your video card may not support this setting"
     
  25. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #25
    you mean 'May Not'. Wouldnt be much of a warning telling you that you can :)


    But strange that that isnt appearing for you. Anyone else do yu have it installed ? I dont want to be going to the bother of borrowing it again and installing it... :)
     

Share This Page