windows xp is giving problems in bootcamp install

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by me2621a, Jul 6, 2006.

  1. me2621a macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    #1
    ok so i have a bran new macbook pro sitting infront of me and i want to play some halflife 2 on it. so i pick up a copy of windows xp profesional edition from my companys tech department. I begin the install were shoows whats loading in the bottom left hand corner then i get File\i386\halaacpi.dll could not be loaded. i thentried twice more getting the same error then i try it a third time and i dont get the error instead it lasts longer then i get ftdisk.sys is corrupted. and that wont fix it self like the last one so i dont know what to do microsoft wont help me because they dont support the apple hardware(duh!!!!)
    im just trying to figure out whats wrong. i think it is because the disk is bad(the company gave it to me therfore it is a cd-r disk.) or he might have not put service pack 2 on the disk(i dont know if he did i dont think so but he might have)
    can somone help me please
     
  2. iCeQuBe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    CT
    #2
    Does your company use unattended installs? Did the install ever ask you how to partition the drive? And how to format it? If it didn't it sounds like the unattended install is set to auto partition which you can't do in this case. That will screw up the partitions that boot camp sets up. If it isn't an unattended install then it sounds like you need a new CD made and you may have to reinstall everything from scratch. (That may include OS X as well) I konw it sucks but if you mess with the partition scheme bootcamp can't reverse it.



     
  3. mikes63737 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #3
    First of all, do you actually have a license for XP?

    Second, if the person who made the CD for you (i assume it's your IT guy) doesn't know anything about Macs, then chances are that they didn't put SP2 on the disc. There are instructions for doing this yourself... but I don't know where they are, but I think they are on MR.
     
  4. me2621a thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    #4
    no i dont think so because my osx partition is fine im using it right now. the disk apears to to be preping to load the interface because there was no progress bar or anything like that that apeared.
     
  5. iCeQuBe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    CT
    #5
    There was never any window showing you the different partitions and asking you how to format the destination partition?
     
  6. me2621a thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    #6
    yes i have a lisence for xp also yes he is my it guy im giving him back the cd tomarow and asking him to put service pack 2 on it because i am not very confedent with the slipstreaming of windows(read the instructions and they scared me):D
     
  7. me2621a thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    #7
    no but we are talking less than 2 minuts into the disk loading
     
  8. me2621a thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    #8
    mind you again no progress bar apered and my guess would be that if it was actually installing then a progress bar would apear. i actualy dont know if it would apear because i never installed windows before, also if it was trying to repartition the drive woudnt it have messed up my osx partition
     
  9. iCeQuBe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    CT
    #9
    Hmm then it could be no service pack 2. I have never seen what happens with out it. As for slipstreaming just copy the contents of the cd to a folder on our HD. Named spcd. then download the full instal of SP2. Then download and install nLite and use that to integrate SP2 and you can also get the latest hotfixes and integrate them as well. It is qute simple. Then use cd image pro to create an iso image of the newly integrated cd and burn using any software such as nero. You have to do all this on a windows PC by the way!



     
  10. me2621a thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    #10
    that was exactly what it was, no service pack 2!!! i just finished slipstreaming it and now i am typing this on my macmini wile windows is being installed on my macbook pro thank you for your help and now anyone will know the sines of servive pack one on a mac
     
  11. me2621a thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    #11
    huh with my slipstream it gave me errors when the computer rebooted to begin the actual instalation. so what did i do i put back in the disk that i maid the slipstream off of. now it is installing perfectly anyone have a possible reason for this
     

Share This Page