Windows XP picks up my iPod Touch as a camera

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by MikeHU4L, Jan 1, 2009.

  1. MikeHU4L macrumors newbie

    MikeHU4L

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #1
    Like the title says, my computer picks up my iPod Touch 32 gig. as a camera device. It will only pick up the pictures in the device, and wont let me copy my music. Software to copy music from my iPod to my com. says they cant find my connected iPod.

    So the primary issue im having is my computer (XP) picks up my iPod Touch as a camera. I need help, please thank you :]
     
  2. JMSports macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #2
    Mine does too, but it doesnt affect anything... iTunes should still work regularly.
     
  3. JackMaurer macrumors member

    JackMaurer

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
  4. sjleworthy macrumors 65816

    sjleworthy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    #4
    LOL, so naive.


    Yup, xp picks up the touch as a camera. You need iTunes to copy media back and forth to it. Xp won't recognize the Touch as another drive. That's not what it is.
     
  5. MikeHU4L thread starter macrumors newbie

    MikeHU4L

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #5
    Well since im on XP itunes 8 wont download, therefore i had to download 7.7 iTunes, and it wont pick up my ipod....Does anyone know a word around for DL iTunes 8 on XP? b/c i really need to get my ipod touch music on my computer


    btw if your wondering when i "Download" itunes 8 on my computer the setup takes 3 seconds, and says it installs, when it obviously hasnt since it didnt even do anything. then it doesent show up on my computer, alot are having this problem. I need a work around please
     
  6. wywern209 macrumors 65832

    wywern209

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    do you rly want to know?
    #6
    i have xp and i can have itunes 8 work fine for me and it is crap. what are ur specs? for ur computer.
     
  7. big-blue-wolf macrumors regular

    big-blue-wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Location:
    15.8 miles from Molineux
    #7
    iTunes 8 will run happily on XP, I've been using it since it was released.

    iTunes will recognize the touch as a "camera" if you have images saved on it from websites or emails you may have received. These are located in the Photo App in "Saved Photos". If you transfer the photos (and don't save any more) the dialogue box will not reappear.
     
  8. justan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #8
    Ive got a windows xp sp.2 and itunes 8 runs like a charm. Loads fast, doesnt freeze up, good to go. I also noticed mine didnt start popping up as a camera until i started saving web pics and taking screen shots but ya, its normal.
     
  9. dudeofswim macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #9
    Yup same and use some wifi data share app to put music on
     
  10. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #10
    If it's a second generation iPod touch (the one with volume controls and a speaker), it needs at least iTunes 8 to be used. And as has been said, iTunes 8 definitely is compatible with XP. Looks more like a computer problem than some sort of compatibility issue.
     
  11. MikeHU4L thread starter macrumors newbie

    MikeHU4L

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #11
    iTunes works now, just had to delete all apple softwarre from my computer and reinstall, after restarting :]
     
  12. wywern209 macrumors 65832

    wywern209

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    do you rly want to know?
    #12
    i think ur previous install of itunes got some how corrupt so it ceased to work but itunes installer picked up some registry keys which signaled that itunes was already on the PC.
     
  13. Caboose221 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #13
    Do try to Google before posting

    Simple as a Google search the answer is found. The uninstalling or anything of the sort is unnessicary.

    You will find your answer at Apple support.
    http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1857

    Hope that helps everyone.

    Caboose221
     
  14. claylj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    #14
    Once again please search the forum before posting. This has been answered several times before.

    When you do screen shots or download images from the web the images are stored in the Photo Album in the "Saved Photos" folder. As long as this folder exists you will get the popup window in Windows. Deleting all pictures in the folder stops this behavior.
     
  15. big-blue-wolf macrumors regular

    big-blue-wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Location:
    15.8 miles from Molineux
    #15
    Who are you telling?

    This thread was started and answered at the beginning of the year, that's two months ago.

    It was Caboose221 who brought the thread back to the top by adding a bit of useful information.
     
  16. t0mat0 macrumors 603

    t0mat0

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Home
    #16
    The feature is actually quite useful - use it for my iPhone to get back up of pictures.
     
  17. pwn247 macrumors 6502

    pwn247

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Location:
    West Virginia, USA
    #17
    Because there are plain ol' JPEGs stored on your iPod touch in a non-protected directory (so you can email them from the device), Windows immediately thinks that anything with pictures on it is a camera. :rolleyes: (I would say "Gotta love Windows" but... eh...)

    So it's normal. Install iTunes.
     
  18. wngster macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Location:
    somewhere
    #18
    same

    ya same dose this mean i cant jailbreak my 4.2.1:confused::(
     
  19. Nicolas4ever macrumors 6502a

    Nicolas4ever

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #19
    ofcourse you can.That is shown as a camera in windows explorer doesn't affect anything.Also mine is shown like a camera but when i want to jailbreak it i can
     
  20. wngster macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Location:
    somewhere
    #20
    is there anyway i can still back-up all the info cause i cant save it in itunes:eek:
     

Share This Page