Windows XP Pro SP2 DOES have EFI Support

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ReanimationLP, Jan 13, 2006.

  1. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #1
    So, yeah, I unhid all the OS files on my XP box. And guess what I found ;)

    Theres a folder on the HD called Boot.

    Inside of that is a folder called EFI.

    Inside of that is all the Windows XP boot files encoded to boot on a EFI based machine.

    Someone try a SP2 Pro disc on their Mac and lemme know what happens!

    EDIT : Added a picture to show that I'm not crazy.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Steve1496 macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    That screenshot is from Media Centre Edition. I've never seen a hidden Boot folder before, it might only be in MCE.
     
  4. dornoforpyros macrumors 68040

    dornoforpyros

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #4
    eh I think someone's gonna have to get their grubby little hands on an intelMac before we know for sure if Windows can install. I give it less than 2 weeks.
     
  5. homerjward macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #5
    must be an mce thing. my install of xp pro sp2 doesnt even have a folder called "boot." and are efi files really for booting with efi or just some other file?
     
  6. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #6
    Yes, those look like the right boot mangler files for Windows, if that screen shot is real.
     
  7. dotdotdot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #7
    Windows XP Professional SP2 here, and no C:\Boot folder when I unhide all the files.

    MCE might boot on EFI because EFI is the way to go for a Media Center type machine, but not for Professional.

    And since you can't buy Media Center Edition (MCE)...
     
  8. Steve1496 macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #8

    As far as I know, Microsoft is selling a Media Center Edition package with remote?

    http://tinyurl.com/ds2dr

    http://tinyurl.com/cvthq
     
  9. homerjward macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #9
    yes, you can. it's about the same price as pro (oem edition at least)
    check out newegg/tigerdirect/whatever
     
  10. ReanimationLP thread starter macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #10
    Its quite real.

    I cant say if its in Pro or not. I honestly dont know/remember.

    You have to uncheck the option that says "Hide protected operating system files. (Recommended)"

    You can buy MCE 2005 at newegg.

    Its like 140.

    Even if it is MCE, all MCE really is is Professional with the Media Center add-on built on top.

    Hell, maybe someone will even develop a way to use the Apple Remote with MCE.
     
  11. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #11
    I just checked Vista Beta 1 and there is a boot folder there too with efi files in it there too:
     

    Attached Files:

  12. mcmadhatter macrumors 6502

    mcmadhatter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    #12
    Happy Days - now all I need is to get a copy of MCE - oh and £939 for an imac - ah well there goes that idea.:(

    Though when i do get the money ...........the possibilities are endless
     
  13. After G macrumors 68000

    After G

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    California
  14. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #14
    Cool I have a copy of MCE 2005, I'll have to give it a try when my new macbookpro arrives sometime in Feb.
     
  15. ArnehWB macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #15
    ReanimationLP,

    Did you have any version of Vista installed before or still have a version installed? I've got the exact same files right here in my \boot\efi\ folder and have never installed XP or MCE on the system. I've only got 2003 Server and Vista installed and those files didn't come from my 2003 install.

    Reason I'm also asking is because your files are the exact same size as my Vista \boot\efi\ files, which they wouldn't be since Vista is newer and constantly changing, and windowscodeintegrity.luacdf is not a part of XP/MCE, rather its from Vista.

    I also noticed your $RECYCLE.BIN in the main dir and the boot.bak. $RECYCLE.BIN is also a feature from Vista and boot.bak implies you've had more than 1 OS installed since it's made a backup of the boot.ini .

    --There is one very easy way for you to check. Take for example the bootmgr.efi , RIGHT-click on it, go to properties, then go to the Version tab, if the version is some form of 6.0.5xxx.x , then its from Vista. Ie. my bootmgr.efi, which is also 374 KB, has this file version number: 6.0.5270.9 , which is from the latest December CTP release of Vista.

    Also, though I'm not 100% sure on this part since its been a while since I haven't had a system with Vista installed on it, but the \boot\ folder in general is not even a part of XP/MCE/2003 booting. All the files that I have in the general \boot\ folder are all related to Vista booting.

    -Arneh
     
  16. Laser47 macrumors 6502a

    Laser47

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #16
    I have MCE 2005 and no boot folder, so I wonder how Reanimation got it. I cant wait til someone tries installing xp on their mac.
     
  17. ArnehWB macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #17
    Yea that's what I thought Laser47. I'm 99.999% sure that his \boot\efi\ and his \boot\ folder in general are from Vista since I've been testing Vista for a long time and the various things in his screenshot seem to prove that at one point or even at the moment he has a version of Vista installed.

    I'm not saying that MCE or XP won't work on an Intel Mac. EFI may in fact support legacy BIOS based OS booting, that we'll have to wait and see. However, MCE is just XP SP2 with the MCE app added and nothing else has been changed between the two in regards to boot etc. so we shouldn't expect MCE to have something that XP SP2 doesn't.
     
  18. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #18
    Are you viewing Hidden Files. If not enable it folder preferences. Any luck now?
     
  19. DOUGHNUT macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    #19
    according to this article:
    http://www.cdrinfo.com/Sections/News/Details.aspx?NewsId=8628

    Gateway Media Center 610 does in fact use EFI

    "Gateway, which uses EFI in its all-in-one Gateway 610 Media Center desktop, said it chose to do so because EFI proved a more efficient way to code preboot software and can also help to improve the product from a long-term development perspective, a company representative said."

    maybe reanimation runs that specific system?
     
  20. howesey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    #20
    Tut tut. You are not allowed to sell WMC, like you are not allowed to sell Windows XP-64. They are all OEM and must be sold with a computer.
     
  21. ArnehWB macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #21
    Maybe DOUGHNUT, but then I think his screenshot would've been widescreen since the Gateway Media Center 610 has a widescreen monitor.

    What the Gateway computer proves is one of 2 things:
    a) EFI does indeed support legacy BIOS based OS booting, whether Apple kept that feature or not we don't know
    OR
    b) OEM's are able to modify current Windows versions to load on EFI systems

    I really hope that its the first case, it'll simplify matters greatly.

    -Arneh
     
  22. Laser47 macrumors 6502a

    Laser47

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #22
    Of course I enabled hidden files. Its just not there.
     
  23. ArnehWB macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #23
    MacRumorUser, anyone who hasn't installed Vista at one point or another won't have the \boot\ folder unless they create it themselves for some other use.

    The windowscodeintegrity.luacdf in ReanimationLP's screenshot is enough to prove that. Its part of the limited user account or UAP protection that is only part of Vista.
     
  24. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #24
    Ok guy's dont flame me; I wasn't being patronising, I was just asking :eek:

    I can't test myself as I swapped my pc (with mce 2005) for my cousins macmini, because i wasn't using it :)
     
  25. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #25
    Maybe it'll be possible to get XP to work on an EFI machine by simply copying over that Boot folder.

    The ntldr file in my Vista Boot folder is of a different size than the ntldr file from Windows.

    XP SP2 ntldr = 250,032 bytes
    Vista nltdr = 304,992 bytes
    XP SP2 NTDETECT.COM = 47,548 bytes
    Vista NTDETECT.COM = 47,564

    I just thought I'd add that in case anyone can use this info. Damn, I wish I could afford an Intel iMac right now. I would have tried this out days ago!
     

Share This Page