WinExposé - Real or fake?

Discussion in 'Community' started by groovebuster, Jan 15, 2004.

  1. macrumors 65816

    groovebuster

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Location:
    3rd rock from the sun...
    #1
    Look guys:

    http://www.winexpose.com/

    I thought something like that is not possible with the current Windows technology!?!? :eek:

    But interesting that somebody tries to copy it right away! ;)

    Or maybe they just want to rip off some people: for example... 3000 * 10$. That's a good profit for running a web-server for 10$ a month for a few weeks and just putting some pages with advertisement for a fake product! :cool:

    groovebuster
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    groovebuster

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Location:
    3rd rock from the sun...
    #3
    Sorry... I did a keyword search but didn't find anything...
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    jxyama

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    #4
    i'm pretty sure this was mentioned in the other thread, but don't waste your money on it...

    apparently, what this app does is that it runs a background process that will take a snapshot of your windows and shinks them and present them in "expose" style in a maximized, borderless window over the desktop when triggered.

    so it's basically a gimmick.
     
  5. macrumors 604

    scem0

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    back in NYC!
    #5
    And why hasn't apple legal done anything about this?

    Seems like a tiny bit of a copy of apple's own technology :rolleyes:.

    scem0
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    crenz

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Location:
    Shanghai, China
    #6
    Apple legal? They probably don't bother because the quality's nowhere near the original anyway...
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    #7
    i have heard from a few places that even guys with some of the nicest x86 computers with fast cpu's and fast gpu's have problems seeing this move smoothly.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    #8
    Yes, WinExpose provides the same functionality as Apple's Expose only for the Windows based machine. Now they changed product name to WinPlosion and domain to www.winplosion.com
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    themadchemist

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Location:
    Chi Town
    #9
    hmm...this post sounds like...an ad! :D
     
  10. macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    That really does sound like an ad, especially with what people have been saying about WinExposé. Do you happen to be affiliated with the makers?
     
  11. macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #11
    haha. youre joking right? cuz that doesnt provide the same functionality, its what...4/5 fps...compared with the real thing...god WinPLOSION is ****.

    its a poor imitation of yet another awesome apple invention.
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    themadchemist

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Location:
    Chi Town
    #12
    He effectively bumped this thread--and we are complicit in its continued bumping.
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    topicolo

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Location:
    Ottawa, ON
    #13
    I actually have winexpose installed right now... Biggest, most useless piece of junk I ever got. ubergeek is right--the framerates are pathetic and it's obviously useless in XP. Apple has nothing to be afraid of
     

Share This Page