WinXP - After OS loads, long time before response...

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Xenesis, Jan 19, 2007.

  1. Xenesis macrumors regular

    Xenesis

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Heyo, I've been using Bootcamp for a while now, but I've been having an issue with XP lately.

    Whenever I boot up into windows, I get to the desktop all fine and dandy. Cool, huh? But herein lies my problem. The OS is completely unresponsive until all my tray icons load. 5/7 load in a second. The other two, the Apple Brightness Control, and the Wireless Network Connection can sometimes take up to 2-3 minutes to load, and until then I can't really do anything...especially as it sometimes prevents Bluetooth from connecting to my keyboard.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #2
    From experience that just...sounds normal. What you could try is going to Start- Run and typing in 'msconfig' then going to the start up tab and disabling anything you think you don't need running it at start up. HOWEVER, make sure you know what you're disabling. It's all too easy to disable something you need at startup, and then you're in trouble.

    Hope that helps.
     
  3. iSee macrumors 68040

    iSee

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    #3
    Heh, welcome to the world of Windows! ;)
    Reinstall the bootcamp drivers. Use the latest version--check apple's site.
     
  4. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    Yeah, this is normal, it's just a bad part of an underpowered OS.
     
  5. Xenesis thread starter macrumors regular

    Xenesis

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    Heh, thanks guys.

    I guess this is still why I've been using Mac OS for the past 7 years. Too many small and annoying things.

    But I'll give those small things a twiddle.
     
  6. contoursvt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #6
    Do you have anything that might be trying to access the network before the wirelss has been loaded? The freezup could be due to the computer trying to access an unavailable network resource.

     

Share This Page