Wireless Airport problems!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by hunted73, Apr 20, 2006.

  1. hunted73 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Hi guys I humbly request some assistance please!
    I have only recently made the switch to Apple and I'm trying to hook up an I-book with wireless. I have a BT Voyager ADSL router and a second hand original Airport card and Base station. The card is picking up 2 networks Xbase and Dreamtime which are password protected. But I cant find the base station via the admin utitlity.
    'Dreamtime' appears to be old settings on the base station. I've tried a hard reset and connected to it directly via an ethernet cable, but it has retained the old Dreamtime settings. Is there another way of resetting that I'm not aware of?
    In addition, does anyone know if there will be any issues once that is resolved. Will I be able to connect the ethernet cable between the router and base station and follow the prompts to configure? Or am I best selling the Airport and getting a wireless BT router instead?!!

    Any help to a new user greatly appreciated thanks!
     
  2. matticus008 macrumors 68040

    matticus008

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #2
    How are you resetting the Airport base station? (If the old settings are remaining, you've not been successful in your attempts ;).) After the reset, and connected to your computer via ethernet, did you run the Airport Setup Utility (in the Applications:Utilities) folder?
     
  3. forevermac.com macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    #3
    Hi,

    From recollection, you can upload a totally fresh firmware update rather than just resetting the basestation. To do this, you need to hold in the reset switch, plug in the power and release the button after 3 secs. Then upload the new firmware, which will totally erase the basestation. After that, use the airport util to set up the basestation. Make sure you password protect it, but don't worry about setting up wep, as it makes it a nightmare when you want to add a temp user to the network. From recollection, when the airport basestation is reset, the name and password becomes admin and public respectively, but double check that. There's plenty of websites out there documenting all this.

    Rich

    Apple mac networking solutions available from our UK shop
     
  4. forevermac.com macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    #4
  5. hunted73 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Thanks gents!

    Well all fixed and up and running! I totally was'nt resetting the base station correctly!! Quite right! Had to get someone to plug in the power so i could do the paper clip reset properly. Bit fiddly otherwise. Since then it has been remarkably easy to set up the wireless through the setup utitlity.

    Thanks to both of you for your help.

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=58613
     

Share This Page