Wireless Apple Solutions

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by dnelsongb, Mar 25, 2002.

  1. dnelsongb macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    Green Bay, Wisconsin
    #1
    Im pricing all of my apple wirless solutions. Ive got apples prices, but now im trying to find mac/pc compatable wireless hubs and cards. Please let me know
     
  2. Choppaface macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Location:
    SFBA
    #2
    ive got a skyline card for my powerbook G3 that will also work in PCs...i think the company who original made it got sold or something...but search google for skyline and you will get the comp that supports it now
     
  3. Screamingbeaver macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    #3
    just about anywhere....

    You can find 802.11b stuff just about anywhere. We picked up Linksys wireless router from $149 and Linksys PCMCIA cards from, like, $79. at CompUSA.

    Personally, I've got Apple cards for my Powerbook and iMacDV and a 2Wire 100W wireless router. And it works awesome. Once you go wireless...there is no goin' back.

    'Beaver
     
  4. Taft macrumors 65816

    Taft

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    Linksys

    I have a Linksys router with wireless capabilities. Its great and runs around $200. Not bad.

    You can buy PCI cards for notebooks, but Airport is the way to go. Out of site, out of mind.

    Matthew
     
  5. evildead macrumors 65816

    evildead

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Location:
    WestCost, USA
    #5
    im doing the same stuff

    You can get Apple stuff if you want for you router but its a bit pricey. It should work with both Mac and PC. I have a Linksys wireless with 4 port hup I have 2 WinBoxes on my network, a Quicksliver and a desktop 233 G3 via a skyline PCMCIA card/PCI card. Eveything works great.
     
  6. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #6
    i got the same card. they still sell it. company changed its name to proxim.

    http://www.proxim.com/
     
  7. maja macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    planet earth
    #7
    airport and 802.11 ?

    i am under the impresion that the airport protocal is just apples version of 802.11 and there for sould work with all 802.11 complient cards is this true ?

    i am trying to get a few of my freebsd boxs up and running and they have a few cards that will work

    http://www.freebsd.org/relnotes/CURRENT/hardware/i386/x26.html#AEN1297

    i was wondering if any one has tryed or has worked with this cards with apple too ??

    the one that isnt listed is the omicrom gold though i belive that they whent though a name change


    any and all help is grately thanked

    maja
     
  8. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #8
    i havent worked with that particluar card but yes it will work with apple. apple's "airport" is just 802.11 you are right. and any 802.11 card will work with an apple base station and apple's card will work with any 802.11 access point. its all the same, apple just likes renaming everything so people dont have to use technical sounding numbered names.

    the nice thing about going apple is the antenna are built-in. the nice thing about going with someone other than apple is its much much faster as apple still uses 11mb and the industry is using 54mb or 128mb. also non apple access points are larger, cover more area are cheaper and are very very ugly.
     
  9. Screamingbeaver macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    #9
    Almost but not quite....

    ummm, not really. Apple uses 802.11b which is a max transfer rate of 11megabits per/sec. (if you're lucky) This is, by far, still the standard the is commonly used. The new standards are 802.11a and 802.11g which are a mach tranfer rate of about 54mbs (again if youre lucky, on average it was tested at about 19mbs) now, 802.11a is propriatary to it that standard. It is not compatibale with 802.11 standards. 802.11g has the same speeds as 802.11a but is backward compatible with existing 802.11b.

    'beaver
     
  10. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #10
    Re: Almost but not quite....

    i dont really see what you are saying that is in disagreement with me excpet to through in all the technical names of the things i mentioned.

    what i was trying to say is that apple's connection is the slowest of thsoe offered by other companies. 54mb 802.11 wireless cards are very widely available so if you use nonapple cards you can get much more speed. (you can say 54mb cards often dont reach that speed but the same can be said of 11mb cards which often are more comparable to 2mb cards). also if you dont mind hunting around you can get a 128mb 802.11 card tahta agin will be much faster than an apple card. i was just trying to list the advantages and disadvantage of apple cards versus other cards. the biggest draw back of non apple cards is they have an antenna sticking out while apple cards have builtin antenna (2 sometimes). the biggest advantage of other cards is they work in old macs and pcs can run at much higher speeds and are cheaper, but again you sacrifice form factor.
     
  11. Screamingbeaver macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    #11
    Dude..no worries...

    'Lemon

    Thats cool, I didn't mean it to sound like I was rippin' ya or anything. I was just stressing a point that the faster cards (802.11a) that are out now, are not compatible with Apple cards. Thats all. Please don't take offense.
     
  12. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #12
    I bought a Lynksys Cable/DSL 4 port router, hooked up the g4 tower through rj45, did the configuration as per the instructions, then spent the next few minutes getting the TiPB online. It was a piece of cake.

    Later that week I got a compaq laptop on the system too. The best thing about the router is that you only need 1 ip address (I'm using cable) and I can have 255 computers on the system, using the routers system, accessed through any webbrowser.

    The router cost ~$200 and the wireless card for the compaq, $100.

    I can't even tell you how great it is.
     
  13. Screamingbeaver macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    #13
    A little help...

    Hey duke...

    I've got a wireless and wired network at one of the places that I work. We're all mac. This new sales woman has a Gateway Solo Laptop. I bought a Linksys wireless card for it. Once I slapped it in and started the "configuration software" it showed there was activity but I still couldn't physically get on the net. Keep in mind I know very little about Windows. Was there a "easy" trick in getting your Compaq to work?

    Just courious.

    'Beaver
     
  14. maja macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    planet earth
    #14
    that is good to know

    ja mostly i just whanted to know if i could have 2 cards one apple and one something else and do the rounteing on my unix box insted of buying a bace station

    thanks maja
     
  15. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #15
    Re: A little help...

    Now you make me try and remember what I did to get it to work....

    I'm not much of a pc guy either, but in the network configuration you need to select the linksys card and make sure you get the password on the network control panel set correctly. I played around with it for a while till I got it right.

    The nice thing is that if you read the little pamphlet that comes with the card, they have a 800 # for tech support. Try this if you're stuck.

    It really was easy once I found the correct control panels.

    Good luck.
     
  16. TheT macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Location:
    Germany
    #16
    Cool, I didn't know you can buy cheaper wireless cards and use 'them in macs.. I prefer the internal antenna though.

    I just started going wireless and I got one proble know: We got sub-areas in our school network, and you can't connect from one to the other. The Airport is hooked up to one of those sub-nets, the wired network is in another. I have a G4 which has AirPort & Ethernet connections, so that one can, thanks to OS X, access all the computers... is there any way to set the G4 up so it works as a router, so that the wired computers can access all the wireless?!? I know MacOS X has some great capabilities...

    Well, however, I have to agree: setting up AirPort is a piece of cake, good job, Apple!
     

Share This Page