Wireless cutting out every few hours.

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by neocitron, Feb 12, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Hey Guys.

    Got my Air almost a week ago and I'm pretty happy so far.
    However I'm getting random disconnects / air not finding the router occasionally, sometimes more than twice an hour. I'd come home and open the lid and my Air would say it couldn't find a preferred network.

    I've tried deleting all the airport prefs in the system / library folders.

    I've tried deleting my remembered networks from the network pref panel.

    I've tried completely reformatting and installing os x (takes a while with remote disk)

    I've tried resetting the parameter RAM (apple option P + R on reboot)

    I've tried resetting the CMOS ( Shift control option POWER for 5 seconds)

    I've tried messing with the router's settings. Currently i'm on n/g mode my Xbox 360 needs g. I'm using WPA security with AES encryption on channel 8, most my neighbors are one channel 6 or 11



    I'm using a pretty well known router, Dlink DIR-655 extreme n with latest firmware. I'm also running 10.5.2 with all updates.

    Note that this problem has been occurring since 10.5.1 for me.

    Anyone with this router having issues as well?



    PS: here is my unboxing of my Air.
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #2
    I have had similar issues in the past 2 weeks with my MacBook...I am usually able to resolve the problem by powering off the wireless access point (Netgear) and then powering back on...still have not found out what the cause of the problem is though.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    #3
    I get the same with my mac book pro. I just go to the airport menu, select other network and type my ssid. Connects right away. beats me what it is.
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    Cybergypsy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Central Florida!
    #4
    No issues here never dropped yet using N airport...
     
  5. macrumors regular

    dahcheet

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA
    #5
    Any problems with signal strength?

    I've noticed my Air scanning for wireless networks when I click on the Airport icon in the Menu Bar but I'm still connected to my router when it does the scan.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    MazingerZ

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #6
    Sounds like an issue with the router more than the MBA.
     
  7. macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #7
    I've noticed a couple of random network disconnects myself, each time during a long multi-hour syncing of my iPhone (which goes over the wireless between my MBA, where iTunes is running and the iPhone is docked, and my Mac Pro, where the music files live). I don't know if this is the MBA's fault, or my D-Link router's fault (I have a D-Link DI-634M), so I wouldn't assign blame just based on what I've seen so far. Could be the MBA, could be the router.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    MazingerZ

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #8
    Have you tried a different brand of router?
     
  9. macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #9
    :confused:

    I'm not going to go buy another router to test this sort of thing. It's a minor inconvenience which only seems to be a bother when there's a long process that involves a continuous stream of information over the network... which is not something most people will do too often.

    But there's an easy way to test it yourself: Fire up iTunes, pick an Internet radio station you like (I like Groove Salad), and hit play. See how long it plays before it cuts out due to a network issue.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    MazingerZ

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #10
    I do this every weekend with my SONOS system using my Airport Extreme..no problems at all. I've also tried linksys and belkin routers before and they work as advertised. D-Links on the other hand are crap, IMHO.
     
  11. macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #11
    Well, mine have worked perfectly (as near as I can tell) so far. I may consider upgrading to an N-capable router at some point, but I also need it to work perfectly with Xbox Live, which the Airport router does NOT do, from everything I've read.
     
  12. macrumors regular

    dahcheet

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA
    #12
    I think I saw a post somewhere that people have been having problems with their DLink routers after the upgrade to 10.5.2. Although you had your problems BEFORE 10.5.2 it could be seen as a common theme.

    Did you try updating your router's firmware? That's one of the first things I try when I think something might be up with my router.
     
  13. macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #13
    I did have problems before AND after 10.5.2, so that's not it. And my router hasn't had a firmware update available since 2006... I think it has been officially EOLed by D-Link.

    My (obsessive) need for continuity of branding means that the Airport may not work for me even if it does support Xbox Live, because I have a lot of wired network connections and the Airport Extreme only has two or three Ethernet ports... Apple sadly doesn't make a simple Ethernet 4- or 5-port switch that I could use to add additional wired network connections.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #14
    Hi. Sorry for the late reply.
    But i have a PC on the network that's running a Dlink extreme N card (3 ants)
    that never cuts out... like never.

    That basically narrows it down to my Air. My Xbox 360 also never cuts out of live.

    It seems to happen during sustained transfers rather than just browsing the web.
     
  15. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #15
    This is a known issue with Leopard. Have you checked the 10.5.2 wiki?

    I have the same issues with my Macbook Pro SR and my Macbook C2D, both running 10.5.2. None with a Mac mini running 10.4.11.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    #16
    Im having the exact same problem before and after 10.5.2.

    I have 3 other laptops on wireless, all XP/Vista and never had a problem with dropped connections. On the Air I can't stay connected for more than 20 mins before it cuts out. If I force it to reconnect it usually does, but drops again shortly after despite showing a full signal strength. Extremely frustrating!

    I'm running a 1 yr old SBC wireless router/access point that I lease from ATT with the latest firmware. I tried changing channels but to no avail.

    Doing a google search revealed other Macs have had similar problems but nobody has a real solution. I was hoping 10.5.2 would fix it, but it appears not.

    now what?!
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    #17
    Having a similar problem myself, with my Netgear router. Every couple of minutes I will just lose my connection, but my Airport will still show that I have a signal. I'm having trouble with downloads as well, because of the erratic connection. It's actually really irritating.

    But I'm thinking its more of a router issue, rather than the MBA, as I have no trouble when I'm using my girlfriend's wi-fi (she has Airport Extreme) or with my college's wi-fi.
     
  18. Thi
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    #18
    Same here, after 10.5.2 the linksys is having the same problem as a dlink in a different location. Is anyone having this problem with airport extreme? I may have to buy a new router. Dlink has stopped support my router and its also time to upgrade to N.
     
  19. macrumors 6502

    MazingerZ

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #19
    Mine has been ok with an Airport Extreme.
     
  20. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #20
    I seemed to have found some sort of stable setting here.

    If you go into your router's preferences ( in my case i have a DIR-655 ) and turn off any QoS services, the connection seems solid afterwards, even waking from sleep.

    Note that some routers don't even have wireless QoS services. In that case they may be permanently on or just unchangeable.

    (stands for quality of service, basically gives priority and 'shapes' traffic to accommodate wireless clients, in this case, the MBA. Problem with this is that it actually changes the data flow from the cable/dsl modem in and out of the router... some wireless cards don't like that)
     
  21. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Location:
    Singapore
    #21
    I'm still having this internet dropping problems. Every 40 - 45 mins, the internet will automatically disconnect. Then i'll have to manually reconnect it. If not no matter how long i wait, it wont auto reconnect back.

    I've tried deleting all the airport prefs in the system / library folders.
    I've tried deleting my remembered networks from the network pref panel.
    I've tried resetting the parameter RAM (apple option P + R on reboot)
    I've tried resetting the CMOS ( Shift control option POWER for 5 seconds)
    I've tried pressing and hold the POWER for 10 - 15 seconds


    I am using 2Wire 2700HGV-2, 2.4ghz G, channel 11 ( all my neighbor are using channel 6 ) WEP encryption, does not have QoS (off)

    But still no luck. I'm quite worried is my MBair network card got problem ? because if have, i'll have to do a exchange before next week... :(
     
  22. macrumors 6502

    MazingerZ

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #22
    Again, I would say try a different router first.
     
  23. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #23
    The router is junk. Never consider any dlink products.
     
  24. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Location:
    Singapore
    #24
    I'm not sure on that. But my MacBook pro and window dasktop is working fine. They can stay connected for the whole day.

    I also notice when i connect my bluetooth Mighty Mouse, my MacBook Air will disconnect in every 10 mins or faster.

    How ? is it a software or hardware issue ?
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #25
    if my access point is G then that G signal gets sent to an extender then to an apple N airport then that sends the signal to my iMac, an I getting G or N signal?
     

Share This Page