wireless for me a and a pc

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Butler Trumpet, Jul 14, 2004.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Dekalb IL
    #1
    So i set up my linksys wireless router a few days ago.. its going great. now my new roommate moves in, he has a pc, and cant get it to connect wirelessly. He can connect with a direct connection(wire) fine though. What does he need to do?
    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #2
    Buy a Mac! :D












    Seriously though, call your ISP (or if you are on campus, your tech administrator). The problems I've had of that nature were quickly solved by a tech support phone call
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Dekalb IL
    #3
    yeah he should get a mac... that would make things way easier... mine set up great.. why? because macs rule.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Timelessblur

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    #4
    welll he may need to check his setting. Also you need to check you router setting. You may of lock down the wireless network with out knowing about it. It may be set to be an invible network or something. Try reseting the router and see what happens.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Dr. Dastardly

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Location:
    I live in a giant bucket!
    #5
    It's funny, this is almost exactly how I switched. My girlfriend had a Vaio and it took me seriously two weeks to get it working with our wireless network without losing the connection every five seconds. I bought her an ibook as a sort of experiment, and got the damn thing connected in literally 5 minutes. Needless to say I switched after that.

    And she swears that she will never use Windows again. :D :eek:
     

Share This Page