Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

scem0

macrumors 604
Original poster
Jul 16, 2002
back in NYC!
I was wondering what steps I need to take to get wireless (Satellite?) internet on my laptop. I have no knowledge on wireless internet.

The computer is an iBook (500 MHz) btw.

MacsRgr8

macrumors G3
Sep 8, 2002
The Netherlands
There is a difference between "wireless networking" and "internet via satellite".
If you want tot internet via the satellite you'll be needing alot more than Airport. Satellite internet is a good alternative if there's no DSL/Cable internet service in you area. For consumer satellite internet, there stiil is usually somekind of dial-up internet connection necessary via the telephone-line for your upload data.
If you want your iBook "Wireless" connected to the internet, there are many possibilities...
First off: you'll need an Aiport Card (see it as a receiver) in your iBook.
Second: Somekind of transmitter is needed. A Wireless ethernet-hub, or so. Example: If you have a 56k-modem dial-up connection to your provider, you can let an Apple Airport BaseStation do the dial-up, and "route" the data via the air.
Another example: If you have a DSL connection, you can get a Wireless DSL-modem / router to do the BaseStation functions; routing the internet connection.
Good luck, and fun! :)

ibookin'

macrumors 65816
Jul 7, 2002
Los Angeles, CA
I think what he means is mobile web. A way to do this is through a cell phone, but unless you want to pay through the nose ($80/month for unlimited access), you won't get more than 14.4Kbps, and even then it'll use the cell minutes. If you want more info reply and I'll describe my experience with this (pretty good, but slow).

scem0

macrumors 604
Original poster
Jul 16, 2002
back in NYC!
Sorry I couldn't respond. I was having account difficulties (and I had to study for finals :().