Wireless internet for Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by gallinger, Jan 16, 2007.

  1. gallinger macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    I am trying to find out how much it would be to get the wireless internet card to go in my mac pro, because i regret not getting it when i bought my computer. I just got off the phone with the apple store in toronto and she said that i have to buy the airport extreme. but on there website it even says it will not work in the mac pro. I dont know what to buy or do, but I want it now. haha

    can anyone help me out here?

    Nick
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    The standard AirPort Extreme card does not work in the Mac Pro...the MP uses a custom card that Apple would have to order and install for you.
     
  3. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #3
    WildCowboy is correct. The 'AirPort Extreme' card is an older, "mini PCI" card that was used by PowerPC-based Macs. The Intel Macs use a "mini PCI Express" card. Since every Intel Mac other than the Mac Pro comes with wireless by default, they don't bother making this new card available for general sale and self-install.

    But any Apple Authorized Service Center should be able to get and install one for you. On the plus side, it will support the new 802.11(pre-)n standard. I would actually wait until late February to get it, so you won't have to pay the $5.00 to activate the pre-n functionality. (Unless you are planning on buying the new pre-n AirPort Extreme router when it comes out next month. The activation software will come with the router, or be a $5.00 separate purchase. There have been a few stories about this recently.)
     
  4. gallinger thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    thank you! its nice to get an answer. And I actually do plan on buying the new Airport extreme. so i dont need to worry about that. Thanks for the help!
     
  5. gallinger thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
  6. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
  7. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #7
    You have to use the Apple card. A same model of Broadcom-made card may very well work in Windows via Boot Camp, but I wouldn't count on anything other than an actual Apple card working in OS X.
     
  8. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #8
    Yeah I think the apple version is different. Broadcom does not say anything about wireless N. Yet apple says that it does work with N. So either they are different chips or Broadcom is not saying they support N one of the two.
     
  9. Carniphage macrumors 68000

    Carniphage

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    #9
    Apple make an "Airport Extreme" module specifically for the Mac Pro. It is available as a build-to-order or as a upgrade that can be fitted in an Apple Store. Some websites also sell the upgrade. Apple's web store does not sell the item because it is not supposed to be installed by end-users.

    This module is based on the Broadcom 802.11n chipset and will be compatible with 802.11n once the N-Abler is released by Apple. Without the N-Abler it looks just like a regular 802.11G part. The module connects to two of the Mac Pro's three internal antennas.

    Many users of the Mac Pro fitted with this module have reported less-than-impressive performance. They cite poor range and signal strength - and throughput is only a fraction of what is reasonable for an 802.11G card. Hopefully this might improve once the N-abler is applied.

    C.
     
  10. not_batman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #10
    Rather than start a whole new thread I will just post in this one. Hey, I am even in Toronto too!

    I just bought an Airport Extreme card for my Mac Pro (at Computer Systems Center, OP) and when I looked up on the internet how to install it I found out it is "not user installable." Now, I technically could install it myself, but I am wondering, if I do install it will my warranty be void?
    I really don't want to wreck my warranty on my less than one week old machine...
     
  11. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11
    Huh?

    You bought the actual card or the kit?
     
  12. not_batman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #12
    I don't know what you mean by kit, but I got the one pictured above, in a little white box that says it is an Airport Extreme card for Mac Pro.
    I know it is the right thing, and I know how to go about installing it, all I am really asking is if I will void my warranty if I do install it myself.
     
  13. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #13
    Kit

    By kit I meant the airport/bluetooth kit that Apple sells.

    You won't void your warranty by actually installing, but if you break something, break on something wrong, move something or in any way change any part of the internal structure, you warranty will be voided.

    But, if you manage to install it perfectly, then this conversation never happened.

    PS...it's really easy.
     
  14. not_batman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #14
    It's just the airport card, no bluetooth.

    Great to hear, though.
    Thanks!

    I mean... conversation? what conversation? :confused: ;)
     
  15. theblotted macrumors regular

    theblotted

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #15
    is this the reason why? damn...

    i thought it was because my MacPro was in a bad part of the house or something. can you point me to other threads/MP users who's experiencing this also?

    i really do hope the new N-abler will give me better range, strength, and performance.... fack crippleware.
     
  16. Carniphage macrumors 68000

    Carniphage

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    #16
    The Mac Pro hardware is also in the C2D iMacs - there's a lot of problems on the Apple forums. Both in the Mac Pro and Intel iMac.

    This thread has been helpfully locked.
    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=3696632&#3696632

    C.
     
  17. gallinger thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #17
    okay does anyone Know where I can buy Just the airport extreme card for the mac pro? Because I want to put it in myself. Anyone?
     
  18. gallinger thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
  19. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
  20. Carniphage macrumors 68000

    Carniphage

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    #20
  21. gallinger thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #21
    okay this is awesome. I just have one more question. will this be compatable with the 802.11n? i just want to make sure it is. so when i buy the new airport extreme ill be taking advantage of it!
     
  22. dkoralek macrumors 6502

    dkoralek

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #22
    Not to be an ass, but did you read the earlier comments in this thread?

    Once the airport extreme base station is available there will be a software updater to enable 802.11n. This will be free with the base station or sold for $5 without the base station.

    cheers.
     
  23. not_batman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #23
    Gallinger, you are in Toronto, right?
    If you are and didn't already get it then go to Computer Systems Center at college and spadina. I got one there yesterday, so I can guarantee you will be able to get one there.

    Good luck!
     
  24. gallinger thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #24
    im about 2.5 hrs from toronto and the only way for me to get one is online or ordering it from a reseller and every time i talk to him about it he has no idea what it is. so, I was looking on the website of the store u got urs at but couldn't find it.
     
  25. gallinger thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #25
    Not_batman, Is there any way that you can give me the part number for it. I just got off the phone with the guy at Computer systems center and I think he gave me the wrong part number, or I wrote it down wrong. thanks
     

Share This Page