Wireless Internet Sharing On Mac! Argg!

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by BlueDingo, Jun 20, 2006.

  1. BlueDingo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #1
    Ok, so

    i bought a Cnet router the other day with 2 Ralink dongles (could not be bothered buying a Airport, to expensive) , i set up 1 of the dongle's for my windows xp pc pretty easly.

    but my mac :mad: , it takes for ever to find the the server, ip addres ect


    and when it does connect, whenever i turn my windows xp pc on, the mac disconects, WHY!?!?

    any1 got advice to help me fix this, i want to have my mac having the intrenet, while my mum,sis,dad use the Xp.

    and if u must no, i have Mac Os X 10.4.6 Tiger

    also, when i do fix this, can i fileshare between my 2 pc's?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Does the dongle have late OSX drivers installed? Assuming the router is regular 802.11B or 802.11G, you might be better off with an Apple AirPort card. Just check whether your Mac needs an older AirPort card or an AirPort Extreme card before buying anything.

    File-sharing should be very straightforward once all machines are on the same wireless network. :)
     
  3. BlueDingo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #3
    yes the dongle has the latest drivers on it, and the router is G, not B
     
  4. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
  5. BlueDingo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #5
    G4 Sawtooth PwerPc
     
  6. zflauaus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    #6
    Why don't you make your Mac have a static IP and see if that works? Just find out what the router's IP is, and on you Mac in System Prefs, go to Network, Airport, and go to TCP/IP and choose manual. Choose and IP preferably under 100 and see if it works. Good luck.
     
  7. BlueDingo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #7

    nah, that doesent work, i have to use this program that came with the drivers to config it:mad: :confused:
     

Share This Page