Wireless Internet Sharing with Windows?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by GimmeSlack12, Jun 21, 2006.

  1. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #1
    Ok so I am able to use my iBook as a base station through my Airport Card when I turn on the internet sharing and share my wired ethernet connection. This works great for my Nintendo DS, and for any other computer users that come into the room.

    How can I get Windows XP to do this? My friend is jealous of this capability with my Mac.
     
  2. Rovman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    Why would you want to do that when using a router would be the superior option?

    Aside from that, you would have to use Windows Internet Connection sharing and create an Ad-Hoc network with your WiFi cards.
     
  3. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
    #3
    yeah, i'm pretty sure a router would be an easier solution here...
     
  4. GimmeSlack12 thread starter macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #4
    Ok. Humor me with a harder answer then.

    If I could use a router then I obviously would not have asked any questions and would just gotten a router.

    Does anyone know how to make your Windows machine a wireless base station using the wireless card. In short, sharing your wired ethernet connection through the wireless card.

    Thanks.
     
  5. smeegs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Location:
    Edinburgh/Belfast
    #5
    I've had to do something similar to this. I've got a PC connecting to the internet through a wireless connection to a wireless router in another room, and I'm sharing that connection with a Blue and White G3 (no airport card) connected to the PC via ethernet.

    I'm not in front of the setup at the moment, but from memory, I turned on Internet Connection Sharing in the properties dialogue box for the wireless connection, turned on DHCP on the Mac and voilà.

    I might be missing out something, as it took me a bit of footering about before I got it working.
     
  6. Rovman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    Why can you not use a router, is there a reason you can't?

    But, like i said in my post, you cannot use a PC wifi card as a WiFi Access point, but you can do a direct connection wifi card to wifi card (rather than wifi card to Access point) using an Ad-Hoc connection. Then using Windows Built in connection sharing to share it. AdHoc however isn't suitable to your needs as you need to manually configure every computer you want to use on the network, setting their IP address/subnet and select AdHoc on every card.

    Sharing a connection from a Windows PC over Ethernet is easy. Just turn on "Internet Connection Sharing" and thats it.

    EDIT:

    To do what you need requires software, they call them Soft AP's (Software Access Point). I'll leave you to google around for one as i've yet to actually find a Software AP solution, but apparently if you have a Marvell wifi card, you can download a driver from their site to add Access point options to the cards config.

    PCTel apparently have a software solution called Segue SAM which also apparently does what you want (except again, their site sucks and i cannot find any real information about it) http://www.pctel.com/index.cgi
     
  7. GimmeSlack12 thread starter macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #7
    BECAUSE I DON'T HAVE ONE!

    Get it now?
     
  8. Rovman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Location:
    United Kingdom
  9. GimmeSlack12 thread starter macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #9
    I should have tried to be more concise about my question when asking, but perhaps that is my own fault. But after explaining what I was trying to do the second time I figured it was clear that I did not want to use a router. I know I could use a router, and if I had one, I wouldn't bother asking anyone. But. I. don't. have. one.

    Either way I suppose asking in the Mac forum was a bad idea to begin with. So I apologize for the outburst Rovman.
     
  10. Rovman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #10
    If you also continue reading my post where i asked why you cannot use a router, i did also mention some info about how it can be done. I cannot give you specific links or info (as i don't actually know myself) but if you do some Googling for Soft AP's you will find the answers.

    "Base Stations" as Apple call them are known as "Wireless Access Points" in the PC world, what you're after is a Software Access point. Much like a software firewall.

    As nobody else is jumping in with "The Answer" i can only suggest you do some research yourself using the little bit of info i have given, sorry but that's all the help i can give.

    EDIT:

    In the WiFi cards properties there will be a "Mode" selection somewhere with options like Infrastructure and Ad-Hoc, if you're lucky it will have an Access Point mode to do what you need.

    I am a Mac noob myself, been using Windows all my life.

    Well the way you worded your post made it sound like there was some ungodly reason for you not being able to use a router, i merely asked why to see if the reason you absolutely couldn't use one was based on a misconception that could be fixed.

    I'm really not trying to argue and just want to help, sorry if i worded it all wrong. It's late (like 4am late) and i'm suffering sleep deprivation :D
     
  11. gerlbaum macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #11
    Ad hoc wireless connection w/ Windows XP-MAC OS X 10.4

    I am having a similar problem. I found a great thread on here that answers the question ( http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=54704 ). But my problem is I can't get the computers to see eachother. They won't even ping.

    (1) My desktop is a Windows XP connected to the internet through a wired DSL modem (a) I shared this connection (b) using the wireless connection I created an ad hoc network with a static IP: 192.168.0.1 subnet: 255.255.255.0 (c) I then created a shared folder on the desktop.

    (2) My laptop is a MAC PowerBook G4 (a) I followed the instructions on the link above checking and double checking (b) finding the IP address my MAC was assigned automatically was way off I made it static to IP: 192.168.0.2 subnet:255.255.255.0.

    (3) connected both to the ad hoc network, both are connected great. Neither can see eachother.

    (4) my goal was to be able to what is connected to the XP desktop: (a) internet (b) printer (c) files.

    THE PROBLEM
    Neither computer sees eachother. I can't ping them but both are connected to the secured ad hoc network fine. On the XP I have the windows firewall on and symmantec anti virus software. On the MAC I have the built in fire wall on as well. After turning all of them off I still couldn't get them to see eachother. Any help from this point I would be great.
     

Share This Page