Wireless network connectivity problems

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by SickMouthy, Feb 4, 2006.

  1. SickMouthy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #1
    At home we have a wireless network. Our ISP is AOL (yes, I know, I want to change but my dad wont) and our router is a D-Link DL-604+. The wireless network was set up approx 18 months to two years ago, when there were only two PCs in the house. My dad has recently got a new PC, and I have just got a new Mac. Shortly after we got the wireless network set up my dad also bought himself a Toshiba laptop. That is when the problems started.
     
  2. SickMouthy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #2
    On my old PC I had no problem doing anything on the net – downloading, uploading, file transfers, accessing any sites I wanted. Likewise my dad on his desktop. However, his laptop wouldn’t access some sites – Barclays and Gmail being the most troublesome two, as my dad does his banking online and Gmail is my mail server. This wasn’t a problem particularly as a; I never used the laptop cos laptops are ****ing horrible, and b; my dad could do his banking on his desktop.
     
  3. SickMouthy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #3
    When Matt was down he tried to get into the router to change the settings, assuming that was what was preventing online banking and the other things working. But he couldn’t. Matt runs internal communications for a big company – he knows his **** (jammy bastard never even finished his degree either). We tried using default passwords for the brand of router, but it’s been changed. We tried a couple of other things to no avail. My dad has no record of what the spotty git who he hired to set up the network changed it to. Why did he hire a spotty git anyway?!
     
  4. SickMouthy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #4
    Ebay does not load - message is “Safari can’t open the page “http://www.ebay.co.uk/” because your computer isn’t connected to the Internet”. And yet AT THE SAME TIME I am browsing www.ilxor.com or this forum, for instance. www.myspace.com also will not load - doubtless there are lots of others - www.barclays.co.uk works, but the connection hangs when I attempt to log in to online banking through the link on that page
    I cannot check for software updates - the computer claims to not be able to connect to the internet, yet running network diagnostics claims the internet is working correctly - it says “network change has occurred” but does not tell me what, and then says the connection is working
     
  5. SickMouthy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #5
    Ebay does not load - message is “Safari can’t open the page “http://www.ebay.co.uk/” because your computer isn’t connected to the Internet”. And yet AT THE SAME TIME I am browsing www.ilxor.com or this forum, for instance. www.myspace.com also will not load - doubtless there are lots of others - www.barclays.co.uk works, but the connection hangs when I attempt to log in to online banking through the link on that page
     
  6. SickMouthy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #6
    I cannot check for software updates - the computer claims to not be able to connect to the internet, yet running network diagnostics claims the internet is working correctly - it says “network change has occurred” but does not tell me what, and then says the connection is working
     
  7. SickMouthy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #7
    I cannot send files via instant messenger programs
    I cannot send emails (most of the time - I have sent a couple, but only very short ones)
    I cannot make large posts to online forums - more than a couple of dozen words causes the page to hang - I’m a naturally verbose git, this is annoying
    I have downloaded programs and widgets from the internet without any problem
    I have been sent music and image files via instant messenger programs without any problem
     
  8. SickMouthy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #8
    At the online music site I edit we load stuff into templates from a .php page - I cannot post from the template forms to the actual site - i.e. I cannot send information outbound over the net.
    This outbound connectivity problem is the consistent theme - email, forums, our site templates, instant messenger file transfer
    WHAT IS GOING ON???!!!
     
  9. SickMouthy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #9
    I've had to post this in 8 bits because it simply would not all go at once.
    I am tempted to destroy all computers everywhere with a hammer.
     
  10. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #10
    from here

    "On the DSL-604+ the reset method is:
    Leave the router powered. No need to unplug anything. Use a straightened paperclip or similar to press the recessed Reset button on the rear of the router. Keep it pressed "until the lights change", then release. The router will then reboot. Access the Configuration Manager by pointing your browser to the default IP address and re-enter your configuration."

    should be back to factory defaults (including user and passw)
    check for firmware updates also.
     
  11. SickMouthy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #11
    Is restting the router to default settings really all that's going to be needed?
     
  12. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #12
    maybe, maybe not, but if it's been screwed around with at least you'll get it back to "normal" and you'll be able to get into it to check for firmware updates and redo your configuration (you'll need to re-enter your ISP login details for example) and look at the status reports to get an idea of what's going on.
     
  13. SickMouthy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #13
    It's scary stuff that I don't really understand but I guess I'm going to have to try.
     
  14. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #14
    it definitely sounds like an outbound data problem, which would be why some sites will work (that don't require cookie feedback etc) and others won't and may well be something in the custom security configuration that it's been set up with. D-Link tech support will probably have other diagnostics you can do on it to test whether or not it's a physical fault with the router that needs to be repaired.
     

Share This Page