Wireless Network with Macbook?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by JohnnyQuest, Mar 11, 2007.

  1. JohnnyQuest macrumors 65816

    JohnnyQuest

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    #1
    Recently, I had COX Communications set up a wireless network in my house. The set it up with a Linksys router. I'm getting my new Macbook this week and was wondering how I will set up the Macbook for this network. Please help.
     
  2. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #2
    I think that it should just find the network, and then you tell it to join, and it will either connect into it or ask you for the password if you have a password set up on it.
     
  3. JohnnyQuest thread starter macrumors 65816

    JohnnyQuest

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    #3
    OK good. Because I was reading forums at APPLE.COM and people were going crazy over not being able to connect to their network. I guess because I'm still using a PC and am going to switch soon, I'm a little bit nervous!
     
  4. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #4
    well if you do end up having any problems which you shouldn't just post here and someone will help you.:)
     
  5. JHacker macrumors 6502

    JHacker

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Location:
    East Coast
    #5
    It's really easy to connect to your network. I set up a Linksys wireless network in my apartment with no problems. Some things you should watch out for though:

    -If they set up your router with a password, you will need that.
    -If they set up your router with Mac (not apple) filtering, you will need to add your Mac address to this list to connect.
     
  6. skwij macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Belleville, ON, Canada
    #6

    True, but it will show as MAC address, not Mac address (yes, there is a difference).

    My MB finds networks easily, no issues at all.
     
  7. sunsnewmac macrumors 6502

    sunsnewmac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    #7
    networking with PCs isnt' always as seamless as they say. I got my MacBook almost 2 weeks ago and it will still only "see" one of our PCs, even though two PCs are connected to the Internet and to the network. It's a strange problem no one seems to know how to figure out yet, but I suspect it's the PC's problem not the MB's.
     

Share This Page