Wireless Networking

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by slightbleeding, Aug 15, 2005.

  1. slightbleeding macrumors newbie

    slightbleeding

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #1
    Hey everyone, new to the forums .. new to mac!

    I just went to the apple store (Yorkdale) to buy my first iBook.. but of course, they were out of stock. The guy said it will take at least 2 weeks before they come in.. so I put my name on the waiting list.. hopefully it comes soon.

    I have a question though about wireless networking.
    I have a PC in my basement. Now, I will use my iBook all over the house.. but my base station will be in my room which is 2 floors up from the basement.

    I don't have a wireless card in my PC.. so I want to avoid buying anything else if I need to. I was thinking of taking my pc and connecting it from my ethernet port into a wireless access point (with a cable) and then having the wireless internet available for my laptop.

    Now the guy at the store says it would be best to put my wireless base station in my room.. because it "mushrooms" out and will fall and I will get good connection in my basement. Now if I do that, I have to buy a seperate PCI card for my PC.

    Now does anyone know any non-apple products that I can get (dlink..linksys?) that will do what I want.. and is cheap.. but will work good??

    Sorry if I am confusing!
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    Pretty much any wifi access point will work. I have a NetGear and I'm quite happy with it (don't buy Belkin, please. Belkin is code for cheap crap). But whether it will work in your situation depends a lot on how your house was built and of what materials. If you live in a lead house, you're going to have problems. If you live in a straw house, well not so many problems. I think the dude at the Apple was on the money when he told you to get the best reception all over the house you should place the wifi AP at a central location. Wifi cards for PCs should be pretty cheap..
     
  3. slightbleeding thread starter macrumors newbie

    slightbleeding

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #3
    what's a lead house?

    my house is about 20 years old.. most of the rooms are made of wood.. except for my basement (newly re-done) the walls are made of metal i think.. metal studs with sheet rock on top

    I could always try buying a base station from best buy and if it doesnt work i can always take it back.

    I really don't want to buy from an apple, cause they are greatly overpriced.
     
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    LEAD

    [​IMG]

    HOUSE

    [​IMG]

    :)

    Seriously you don't have you buy an Airport Base Station. Linksys should work fine, NetGear should work fine.
     
  5. dcv macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #5
    You can get 'bundles' where they throw in a wireless card (pci for desktop/pcmcia for laptop or even a usb dongle type of thing) along with the wireless router. In the UK I know that 3Com and D-Link sell such bundles and are very well priced - might be worth considering as then you can hook your pc up wirelessly too. You'll find you get better wifi reception the higher up you place the router/access point.
     
  6. slightbleeding thread starter macrumors newbie

    slightbleeding

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #6
    I feel stupid now :p

    I dont' know if I have a Lead House.. hmm.
    How much should I expect to pay for a wireless router? I need to get one that has 802.11G right? Cause that's what's built into iBook
     
  7. slightbleeding thread starter macrumors newbie

    slightbleeding

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #7
    Ok, I thought they might have bundles.. but I wasnt sure.
    THanks for answering my questions :)

    Also.. is there a program on the mac that is like NetStumbler on the PC where you can find unprotected wifi points??
     
  8. AJ Muni macrumors 65816

    AJ Muni

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Location:
    Miami
  9. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    You can get ones that switch between b and g, but unless you have friends with old computers that you want to cater to.. just stick with the 802.11g.
     
  10. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    iStumbler

    And we perfer the term, "open networks" ;)
     
  11. slightbleeding thread starter macrumors newbie

    slightbleeding

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #11
    "open networks".. nice ;)

    Thanks guys! I just remembered.. my friend got a old laptop (g3.. black ugly one) from her sister.. and she gave her a thing that looks like this:

    [​IMG]

    Maybe I can just "borrow" hers.. hmm!
     
  12. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #12
    Sure it wasn't one of these?

    [​IMG]

    It's a power supply for powerbook, not a wifi access point.
     
  13. slightbleeding thread starter macrumors newbie

    slightbleeding

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #13
    dammit! thats what it was!
     
  14. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14
    Don't borrow that, then..

    The saucer doesn't fly very well.. trust me.
     
  15. slightbleeding thread starter macrumors newbie

    slightbleeding

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #15
    lol thanks guys. I'll keep you updated on me purchase :)
     
  16. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #16
    Besides iStumbler there are also widgets that do basically the same thing.
     
  17. slightbleeding thread starter macrumors newbie

    slightbleeding

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
  18. slightbleeding thread starter macrumors newbie

    slightbleeding

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #18
    does anyone know what the average temperature should be on the iBook?

    mine is at 51 degrees right now.. its really hot!
     
  19. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #19
    I don't think that's too hot (sounds normal to me).

    51C is something like 124F?

    My PowerBook maxes out when compiling at ~144F (62C)..
     
  20. slightbleeding thread starter macrumors newbie

    slightbleeding

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #20
    I think i was running too many things at once, its down to 41.0 degrees celcius now.. so im happy!

    There is so much to get use to.. this is going to be hard!!!!
     
  21. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #21
    You can easily get a name-brand 11g router for $40 after rebates. Sometimes, you can even get it for $30.
     
  22. slightbleeding thread starter macrumors newbie

    slightbleeding

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #22
    i just went out and got a belkin

    but I notice that when my bro is using the PC.. then the connection keeps dropping for a few seconds.. and then it goes back.. and forth.. its getting annyoing
     
  23. Zman5225 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    Tacoma WA
    #23
    Bestbuy has a sweet Netgear g wireless router for 29.99 out the door. I just got it and set it up with my new iBook and 2 wintel machines without a hitch. Worked like a champ.
     
  24. madmax_2069 macrumors 6502a

    madmax_2069

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Springfield Ohio
    #24
    i will only go with linksys cause ive had so much problems with almost all other wifi routers linksys is the only wifi router that worked the first time and is still working with no problems a year later i got a wirelesss b broadband router model number BEFW11S4 yea i know its a 802.11 b but the signal goes every where in the 2 story house even in the basement even outside. if u can help it go linksys
     
  25. londy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    louisville, ky
    #25
    @Zman--what's the model number on the netgear router?
     

Share This Page