Wireless Not Working

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Mary H, Nov 8, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Hey,

    We have moved from one province to another and changed ISPs. I can connect to the internet directly from the modem with a NIC cord. However, I am getting no connection from the Airport Extreme via a NIC cord or wirelessly. The Airport Extreme is not connecting to the internet. I have changed the protocols. Called the new ISP to make sure I was using the correct username and password.

    I am totally kurfluffled as to what is happening.

    Any insight welcome. In the past I never had any problem connecting to a new wireless connection but could not reset the extreme nor remove the old but current wireless connection.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    #2
    Unplug/shut off the computer, the modem, and the router. Wait a minute or so. Then power up the modem. Let it boot up, etc. Then plug the ethernet cord into the router, then power up the router, then turn on your computer. Does that work?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    No :(

    I am getting a message that there is an error with the base saying there are no DNS server addresses which may cause connection problems. If this is it, where do I get the DNS server addresses?
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Knoodles

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Gone to the Beach
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Solved :)

    I had tried the hard reset earlier but it wasn't resetting. This time I was able to reset it and I am now using the wireless to type this :D

    Thank you!!!!
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Knoodles

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Gone to the Beach
    #6
    Yay! :D Hopefully the instructions were of some help.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    Yes Knoodles, even though I had gone through the instruction several times, clicking on the link you posted and going through the steps again made me realize I had missed an important part of the process ... waiting for the rapid flashes

    Thanks, mary
     

Share This Page