Wireless Printserver (Linksys PPS1UW, Mac 20" CoreDuo)..no work...me ... :(

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by NewlyConverted2, Nov 19, 2006.

  1. NewlyConverted2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #1
    I would appreciate some advice here. I am somewhat network saavy, but can't figure this out...:confused: I have a Wireless network with a Linksys router. 4 PCs in my house print to a Laser Printer, HP 1300, with no trouble at all. the printer hangs off of a Linksys Wireless printserver Model# PPS1UW. I am recently converted, and bought a 20in Mac Core Duo. I point the MAC at the IP addr of the printserver, for printing, which is static and pick LPD as the protocol to print with and I can not get it to print.. :(
    Apprecaite any advice here...!!!
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    From www.Linksys.com

    "Works with virtually all major operating systems!

    System Requirements
    • Microsoft® Windows 95, 98, ME, NT, 2000, or
    XP"

    Also
    "Free Technical Support—24 Hours a Day, 7 Days a Week for North America Only"
     
  3. NewlyConverted2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #3
    Linksys wont support MACs..or so their support folk say so...

    Thanks......but I know it says that. However, I cant make it work for the life of me and Linksys says they wont help you if you have a MAC.
    Regardless, I agree it should work...in theory...but I cant make it work on the MAC. It works great with the 4 other PCs on my wireless network


    (I am a Cisco employee and I still cant get Linksys to help me...we own them)
     
  4. Reflow macrumors 68000

    Reflow

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/PHL
  5. NewlyConverted2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #5
    Yes....I can ping the printserver from the Mac....and the PCs all print to it fine.
     
  6. Reflow macrumors 68000

    Reflow

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/PHL
    #6
    Ok did you install the drivers for the printer on your New Mac?
     
  7. NewlyConverted2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #7
    Yup..HP 1300 Printer Driver is installed and I choose that driver when I point it at the static IP Addr of the printserver. I can web browse the Printserver..so I know I have the right addr...as well.
     
  8. Reflow macrumors 68000

    Reflow

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/PHL
    #8
    Have you tried to use Hp ip printing in the pull down box
     
  9. NewlyConverted2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #9
    I did...but it didnt work....though For a very brief moment,a week ago, the printing worked with LPD...but it lasted one night and then in the AM..it didnt work again. (Note: it is not because of an IP addr issue, it is static..I am certain)
     
  10. Hummer macrumors 65816

    Hummer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    Queens, New York NY-5
    #10
  11. NewlyConverted2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #11
    I will do it....exactly and then let all know how it went.
    Thx you guys! This forum is great and I appreciate how helpful you all are..!!
    -U Rock...just like my new MAC ..:)
     
  12. Hummer macrumors 65816

    Hummer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    Queens, New York NY-5
    #12
    If you run into some problems near the end like me. Your mac settings should be something like this.

    [​IMG]


    The address will be whatever the ip of the computer the printer connected to is which would be 192.168.1.10(the third digit will vary)

    Go to command prompt on the computer the printer is hooked up to and type in ipconfig and you'll find it out
     
  13. NewlyConverted2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #13
    thx..that helps. The printer is onnected to the Printserver (Linksys ) though....which has its own IP Addr. I wanted a printserver so I didnt have to leave a computer on 7x24
     
  14. Hummer macrumors 65816

    Hummer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    Queens, New York NY-5
    #14

    Oooh, I have no idea in that field. :( Sorry.
     
  15. NewlyConverted2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #15
    Hmm...shouldnt it still work. The Mac shouldnt know whether or not it is printing to a PC or Printserver..no..?
    ..or should I not install the stuff that you suggeted..?
    thx
     
  16. NewlyConverted2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #16
    :( I think u r right.

    I think that this only works if your printeris attached to a PC. I think I am at Square 1 again...
    :(
    Thx for trying....other advice..?
     
  17. HaydenHarnet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #17
    I couldn't find my print server in the list !!!!!
     
  18. Relentlos macrumors member

    Relentlos

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    #18
    Go to system Preferences, Sharing, and see if something there may be interfering with the connection.

    If you go to firewall, click "advanced" and "log", does the console show any denied connections showing up from the IP your print server has? I've used this method to connect to my XP machine which was popping up with "denied connection attempt to UDP (My IP) from (XP Machine's IP). After noticing that, I unchecked the "block UDP communications" from the firewall and instantly I could connect just fine.


    It's worth a shot. I've had a couple problems recently that were simply the firewall on my end. Transmission's perpetually blocked port was one of them.
     

Share This Page