Wireless router for eMac?

Discussion in 'Games' started by mish63, Dec 27, 2005.

1. mish63 macrumors newbie

I'm new to this so please bear with me! I just got the Xbox 360 for my son. I also purchased the Xbox 360 wireless network adaptor. But now I need to buy a wireless router to connect to my eMac (Mac OS X). Is the Linksys WRT54G Wireless-G Router compatible with my computer? If not, any suggestions! There's conflicting info regarding their compatibility.

2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan

Yes, it should definitely be compatible. There are people here who use it. I've used wired Linksys products. There're hardly any routers from major brands (Linksys, D-Link, Netgear, Belkin, and so on) that don't work with Macs. Some people have had trouble setting up security, but we can help you get through that.

Where did you see the conflicting reports, out of curiosity?

3. mish63 thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for your help! On Amazon.com & other retail websites they have customer reviews. Some reviewers state that not all wireless routers work with MACs. It did seem wierd to me but I didn't want to go ahead and buy one if it was true. After the expense of the Xbox 360, network adapter, games & accessories the last thing I want to do is buy a router...but here I go!!

4. dukebound85 macrumors P6

dukebound85

I have the same router and my emac works fine with my wireless home network. Should be no problems with it

5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan

MACs or Macs? Did it say by chance that not all routers allow for restriction based on MAC addresses? That's something completely different...it's a security technique. Although I'd be surprised if this router cannot do that too.

And sadly, lots of reviewers on Amazon are kind of, erm, well, ahem. Yes. :eek:

6. mish63 thread starter macrumors newbie

Yeah...I hear ya. I'm not very computer savvy so I get easily confused. Thanks for your help.

7. deadlygopher macrumors member

deadlygopher