Wireless

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by evildead, Oct 31, 2005.

  1. evildead macrumors 65816

    evildead

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Location:
    WestCost, USA
    #1
    I'm in the market for a new Wireless Router. I really like the Airport Express but I need at least one port for a hard wired computer. Any rumors of Airport Extreem/Express updates? Airport with airTunes?
     
  2. VanMac macrumors 6502a

    VanMac

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Rampaging Tokyo
    #2
    Do you need streaming audio, etc?

    Linksys WRT54G is a good little router. Not too pricey either.
     
  3. Graeme Pearce macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    33 45.255 south, 151 12.910 east
    #3
    I am a great believer in if you need it now, buy it now. Technology will change the day after you buy a computer or peripheral anyway.

    I have an Airport Extreme which feeds an iMac, iBook, a PC and a wireless printer. I have had this set-up for one year and it works flawlessly. After a power outage once I had to reboot the Airport.

    So far as security is concerned I have a neighbour who openly admits to trying to break into my network but is unable to.

    So, for reliability and security I have no hesitation recommending the Airport Extreme.

    BTW there is still disagreement on the next wi-fi standard (802.11.n) so I think that buying an 802.11.g router will be safest for the time being.

    Gp
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4

    Wiser words are rarely said. Unless you really need AirTunes then get a cheaper Linksys. You can later add an Express to your network if you'd like and have AirTunes that way. :)
     
  5. Texas04 macrumors 6502a

    Texas04

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    yeah, if you just want one hardwired, I have had great luck with my Netgear Routers, If one breaks down, they send me a new one... Only downside is the Tech Support people dont speak english very well..:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page