wirless and airport

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by buckeye, Nov 27, 2003.

  1. buckeye macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    #1
    Hi, I am new to these boards. I wonder if anyone can help? I have an original Airport base station, and a Sony notebook with wireless card. Can I use them together? Thank you for your expertise. Buck.
     
  2. jtown macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
  3. MoparShaha macrumors 68000

    MoparShaha

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3
    Yeah, you can use the two together fine, but, I believe you need a Mac to setup the base station. The software settings on the basestation are controlled by the Airport Admin Utility on the Mac.
     
  4. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #4
    Go to http://www.apple.com/airport/ and download the Windows Airport Utility (works with Win 2K/XP). I just set up a friends network with it. I still think you may need a Mac to do the first settings, but try it with out and see if it works. If not, find a friend, or Mac store that will set it up for you, and then you can make any changes with the Windows Airport utility.

    TEG
     
  5. buckeye thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    #5
    thanks for your help, guys, but so far, no improvement. the download available is only for the latest airport base station. i have the original, graphite. any ideas? thanks.:confused:
     

Share This Page