With all the new features will they fix the snow leopard bugs?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by whitedragon101, Feb 17, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #1
    When I ran Leopard I had no pinwheels, expose was smooth and the swap file was hardly used.

    In Snow-Leopard I get regular pinwheels due to strangely high swap file use even when RAM is available. Expose and Spaces judder rather than change smoothly. (others have mentioned these problems too).

    I felt that Snow Leopard was a change of the underlying coding (64bit, openCL etc) and that the memory and interface issues were ignored/overlooked.

    Do you think apple will address these things with Lion?
     
  2. macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    I don't have any of those problems after "upgrading" from Leopard.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #3
    Well the expose/spaces problem was largely solved about 2 months after snow leopard released. The juddering was like watching a film stuttering at 2 and 100fps and nothing in-between. Apple released an OS update and it seemed to stop the judder, all the threads died down and everything was fine again. But when I compare to my girlfriends laptop running leopard the patch still hasn't returned it to its silky smooth former glory. I suspect as expose/spaces were a very big deal for Leopard, testers spent weeks making sure the action was silky smooth for launch. Snow Leopard introduced a stutter and they put a plaster on it. Hopefully Lion will return it to silky smooth.

    As for the memory problem there seems to be an unnecessary use of the swap file when there is RAM to be used. 1GB ram could be inactive yet the swap file could be 3GB in size performing slow as hell page-outs resulting in pinwheels.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    lizcat68

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, United States
    #4
    I haven't upgraded yet, but my mom hasn't had any problems, either. :)
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #5
    Well the memory thing only happens when you push the system i.e Dreamweaver, Multiple Webpages etc . It could be simply be an issue with the reporting of how the memory is being used. For example perhaps 1GB inactive does not really mean it can be used.

    The expose/ spaces thing was resolved as a PROBLEM by the update but it would be nice if they made it properly smooth again.
     

Share This Page