Won't be folding for a while, rig caught on fire

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by OrangeSVTguy, Feb 17, 2011.

  1. OrangeSVTguy, Feb 17, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 19, 2011

    macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #1
    Well I got the i7 970 installed and my rig caught fire. I'm so pissed right now. Now I just hope nothing of mine is screwed up, especially my new expensive 970 :mad: Gonna take it over to my friends to test it out along with my other components.

    Don't know when I'll be back.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #2
    dang i'm sorry to hear that. were you overclocking? what piece is that burned?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #3
  4. macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #4
    Sorry to hear about what happened. Hopefully the damage is limited.

    I heard EVGA has good support, and they might RMA that for you. Hopefully they won't blame it on that 1600w PSU! :eek: If you do get a new motherboard, I'd suggest a Gigabyte. I know they aren't as beastly as EVGA but they seem very sturdy/durable. I almost went with an Asus but got a Gigabyte for my personal build.


    Was your computer still running when it caught on fire? :eek:
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    #5
    This is why sometimes I'm afraid of leaving my computer on when I'm not home for the day. Once I had one of my old PCs' PSU spit fire out the back when I was sitting right next to it. Unless there was a big power spike on the rest of the power plugs hopefully nothing else got fragged.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    lordonuthin

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Location:
    Iowa
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #7
    I guess I wasn't very keen on overclocking, seeing this, I will never overclock anything. Not worth putting my family at risk for that.
     
  8. techfreak85, Feb 19, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2011

    macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
    #8
    ^I'm not so sure this particular problem was necessarily because of the OC. You probably have a similar risk leaving the computer on 24/7 at stock speeds.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #9
    The OC had nothing to do with it. It was a VRM failure on the motherboard plus lack of over current protection on the PSU. This particular motherboard was only 6+2 phase and couldn't handle the extra current needed for the 970. Getting the RMA and then will sell that. Should have my rig up within a week as I'm likely to pick up a Rampage III Extreme this week :D. Very very and might I add another very nice board. Selling the PSU too and picking up a Corair 850w. Want some nice hardware this time for the $600 CPU :p

    My 970, memory, GPUs and believe it or not, PSU are all working fine. Tested everything last night. Yay!
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
    #10
    Good news! But if for some reason you decide to not get a new mobo, you can give the 970 to me.:D
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #11
    You can buy my RMA'd motherboard or 920 if you want :D
     
  12. macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #12
    glad not everything was ruined. so it was basically the 970 that caused the problem? the motherboard couldn't handle it?
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #13
    Yeah the cheapie mobo couldn't handle it. I guess the EVGA SLI LE was a 6+2 phase and my power supply lacked OCP :eek: The 970 is a beast though, pulled too much current and the PSU wouldn't shut off by itself. Got something good coming soon :)
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #14
    It is not the motherboard nor the VRMs. Most EVGA X58s have Digital VRMs which is better than analog. 6+2 digital vrms > than 10+2 analog.

    100% sure its that piece of ***** ultra psu, i thought everyone knew that they sucked.
     
  15. macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #15
    hmm. you know i have a friend with a 970 that blew up 2 power supplies (no fire though). he then upgraded to a better psu and hasn't had a problem since. weird
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #16
    Ok back up and running stock clock for now. Till I learn this new board, I'll begin to overclock as my 970 will do 4.2 at around 1.23v :D.

    Gave everyone a week to catch up but I guess you lost your chance now :p
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #17
    Yes, the PSU could not give enough amperage to the 970, i am sure it has multiple rails, which was the problem with the OPs PSU, which is also a cheap brand too.
     
  18. thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #18
    120 amps on one 12v rail. I think that was enough ;).
     
  19. macrumors 601

    vincenz

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
  20. macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #20
    Cheap generic PSU my friend.
     

Share This Page