WooHoo! I'm running in the NYC Marathon!

Discussion in 'Community' started by Flowbee, Jun 16, 2004.

1. Flowbee macrumors 68030

Flowbee

The results of the lottery for a spot in the marathon were posted this afternoon... and I was accepted. I think they accept around 35,000 runners; well over 70,000 runners applied (my entry number was just over 71,000).

I've never run a marathon before. In fact, I've never run more than a mile. But I started training last month using The Non-Runner's Marathon Trainer, bought myself a pair of Saucony Hurricanes, and I'm determined to run and finish.

Any other marathon runners here? Post your experiences. Or just wish me luck... I'm sure I'll need a bit of it.

Edit -- The marathon is on Sunday, November 7th.

2. kgarner macrumors 68000

kgarner

I'm more of a TV marathon kind of guy. If they ever do a Simpson's Marathon, I am there! :D

Good Luck Flowbee! Make us proud.

3. Macmaniac macrumors 68040

Macmaniac

Go for it dude, good luck!! Try and find the original Apple t-shirt when the released the first macintosh, and wear an iPod as well and carry a big sledgehammer;)

4. krimson macrumors 65816

krimson

Democratic People's Republic of Kalifornia
    Good Luck!
    My friend did Long Beach, then LA last year... after he quit smoking no less.

Dont forget to drink fluids :)

5. Roger1 macrumors 65816

Roger1

GOOD FOR YOU
    A lady I work with (an overweight lady) signed up to do a marathon for the American Diabetes Association. She trained for 6 months lost over 40 pounds in the process and managed to do the marathon in about 5 hours. If you have the ability to do it, then do it!!! :D

6. sonofslim macrumors 6502a

sonofslim

sweet! the course runs past one end of my block, about mile 7 -- long before everyone looks like a sweaty zombie. so maybe i'll see you out there... good luck!

7. Flowbee thread starter macrumors 68030

Flowbee