Word v.X Problems - Freezing at "configuring font-menu performance"

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by the_wallcrawler, Apr 2, 2003.

  1. the_wallcrawler macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    #1
    Ok, so today I was going to start working on a paper for school.....so I go to Word to type it up. Well, Word decides that it doesnt feel like working. The program keeps freezing at the startup menu at the point where it says "configuring font-menu performance".

    Recently I installed some new fonts to work on some design projects so I am assuming this is where the problem lies. Any ideas?

    All other programs seem to be working fine. Actually thats not true, all the office programs freeze at the same point. Photoshop, Dreamweaver, Flash are working fine.

    I re-installed Office and it still happens, so the program is not the problem. What should I do about those fonts?

    Eric.
     
  2. Macette macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #2
    Get rid of those fonts, dude. Microsoft Office is INCREDIBLY picky about fonts... I've had lots of problems. Are you using font management software, like Suitcase? Suitcase seems to have solved my problems.
     
  3. the_wallcrawler thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    #3
    i would like to try suitcase out, and i got a demo version, but i cant really figure it out.
     
  4. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #4
    i ran into the same problem today at a client i support.

    i found out two things:

    1. some fonts were "corrupted," at least in that if they were installed (/Library/Fonts), Word would freeze up as you describe

    2. there was a limit to the number of fonts i could have in that folder, else Word would freeze

    Word is running now because i removed the "corrupted" ones and enough good ones. i'm looking for a final sol'n for it, which might be to use Suitcase to move them in and out as needed. but i'll have to look into that.

    have you found another solution?
     
  5. the_wallcrawler thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    #5
    yea, i used suitcase.....

    i took out all fonts other than the ones originally in the fonts folder, put the rest on my other hard drive partition and used suitcase. i'm not sure what fonts were messing it up exactly but it works now.

    i just have to make sure i open suitcase and "activate" what fonts i want to use in photoshop, etc.

    eric.
     
  6. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #6
    i'll give it a go. thanks.
     

Share This Page