Working in a Studio

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by blvdeast, Apr 6, 2004.

1. blvdeast macrumors regular

I just registered at Five Towns College at Long Island, and have only 3 hours of class a day, that leaves a lot of free time and I want to use it productivly. First of all, I chose Five Towns (anyone goes/went there??) because it was the only college around me that offered a complete audio tech course without the extra liberal arts stuff. I am majoring in Audio Tech. and plan to work in a recording/tv/radio studio. I am not the liberal student that will get the major then move back home and wait a few years to find a job. I plan on working from the first day of class and get as much training as I can. I already mastered GB on my iBook and have a pretty good understanding of Cool Edit.
    My question is for anyone that works in a studio. Do you have any tips on what I can do to prepare? While I was at the school, I was reading some magazines, and one of them was Mix, they had a lot of info on this, any suggestions for other magazines? And any other advice is welcome.
    And just to mention, the Mix magazine had pictures of studios, not one PC, all Macs. My dream office.
    You can IM me at NeverKnowingFear @ AIM or a regular PM if you want

2. kanker macrumors 6502

First, if your iBook can boot into OS 9 (not Classic mode), download ProTools free and try to get your head around PT. Another thing to do is order Apple Pro Training Series: Logic 6 to get a little knowledge and experience with Logic. Read the book, then order the 30 day demo. Go to OSXAudio and read the forums. Ask questions, lots of knowledge to be had there. Check out demos of Reason and Live, and any other demos you can get your hands on. Listen critically to lots of different records in a wide variety of styles, check out lots of movies. Figure out why they're mixed the way they're mixed- make your ears adaptable. Most important, have fun doing it.