Working in Australia?

Discussion in 'Community' started by notjustjay, Aug 27, 2005.

1. notjustjay macrumors 603

notjustjay

I hope I can get some feedback from the Australian members of MacRumors, of which there appear to be quite a few (or perhaps just one or two who have established notoriety :D)

I am just finishing up my Master's degree (I studied multi-agent systems, i.e. RoboCup) here in Canada and I'm starting my job hunt. One of the companies I applied for is a software company headquartered in Sydney, Australia.

I've never been Down Under but I hear a lot of great things from friends who went, and it had always been a dream to travel down there, so this might be an opportunity!

I was just wondering if we could talk about what it's like to live and work in Sydney. Also (and this is a tricky one) could anyone give me an idea of what to expect or ask for in terms of salary range? Cost of housing, food, living?

Thanks for any insights you could give me... :)

2. cooknwitha macrumors 6502a

cooknwitha

I'll answer as best I can. :)

Of the two big cities, I personally prefer Melbourne but Sydney does have the 'it' factor. Beautiful harbour, beautiful city and pretentious people (sorry, Sydney people. :))

As for income, I can't speak from experience but my sister moved there a few years ago and started on $35k and was stuggling a bit. That said, she was living in Bondi which is fairly pricey.

I'm sure some other Sydneyites can help here. But Australia is a beautiful country. Just make it clear you're Canadian when you arrive. ;)

3. krollster macrumors member

I have no idea what salary you should expect, but if you do a bit of googling and find some online job sites in Aus they should be able to give you some ballpark figures. Seek.com.au is one I've used before, but there are others.

4. neocell macrumors 65816

neocell