World Clock Widget Using 7% CPU?!?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by iWillard, Aug 25, 2005.

  1. iWillard macrumors regular

    iWillard

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Staring at a Mac Screen
    #1
    According to the System Stat widget, my world clock widget was using 7%+ of my CPU constantly whilst other apps are using .04% ... wha? moving the second hand takes a lot of processing power apparently? :confused:
     
  2. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #2
    It has probably crashed or at least having major problems. My two instances of World Clock use 0.00% CPU (once they're initiated). Try to just kill it and start it again. That usually helps when some of my widgets gets a hang-up.

    Edit: Aaah... just noticed that you're using the System Stat widget, the stupidest widget there is (because Dashboard and all the javascript widgets are major RAM and CPU hogs when Dashboard is running, and only medium so when Dashboard isn't), don't use that, use something like XRG or just good ol' Activity Monitor to monitor your system resources... :rolleyes:

    My two World Clocks are using ~12% CPU each when Dashboard is running.
     
  3. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #3
    In relation to what? 7% on a G4 400Mhz iMac or a Dual G5 2.7Ghz PowerMac? If latter, you're in serious trouble. :D

    NM. Sigs is turned off but I see you got a PB. Have no clue.
     
  4. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #4
    Sorry there's no 400 MHz G4 iMac ;) :D

    According to Activity Monitor my World Clock takes 0 CPU % while Dashboard is not active and 15 % while Dashboard is active. So I guess 7 % is much better than what I get :(
     
  5. iWillard thread starter macrumors regular

    iWillard

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Staring at a Mac Screen
    #5
    I dunno... i think the "Automatic Kernel Panic Widget" is worse... :p

    but i digress... makes sense that they take up a lot when dashboard is up... but it was weird to see "World Clock" as the top process... :eek: especially when i had other, larger, more involved widgets running...

    anyway, whatever... s'all good now...
     

Share This Page