World of Warcraft on mac:

Discussion in 'Games' started by gamerz, Oct 4, 2006.

  1. gamerz macrumors 6502

    gamerz

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    #1
    Hey all, I was wondering if this mac would be good enough to run WoW without many errors and around 30 fps noramlly. Here are the system specs:

    WebID: 10071145
    Mfr. Part Number: MA199LL/A
    Processor Type Intel Core Duo
    Processor Speed 1.83GHz
    RAM 512MB DDR2 (Exp. To 2GB)
    Hard Drive 160GB SATA 7200RPM
    Optical Drives 8x DL Superdrive
    Graphics Card 128MB ATI RADEON X1600
    Available Expansion Bays None
    Available Expansion Slots Expansion through Firewire/USB
    Cache 2MB Shared
    Disk Drive Floppy Drive Sold Seperately
    Fax/Modem No
    I/O Ports 3USB, 2 FW, 1 DVI, Audio In/Out, 1LAN
    Included Software See The Features Section
    Monitor Included? 17" Widescreen TFT Active-Matrix LCD
    Network Card 1000BaseT, Airport Extreme 54g
    Other Control Devices Apple Remote & Keyboard, Mighty Mouse
    Preloaded Operating System Mac OS X V.10.4 Tiger
    Sound Card Built-In Digital Sound
    Speakers Built-In Stereo
    System Bus 667MHz

    Thanks
     
  2. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    Lol.

    This is what matters:
    Graphics Card 128MB ATI RADEON X1600

    Your ram is a little below traditional specs, but it should be fine.
     
  3. lmalave macrumors 68000

    lmalave

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Location:
    Chinatown NYC
    #3
    You should be fine. On my lil' MacBook with integrated graphics I still get 15 fps outdoors and 30 fps indoors. With your hardware, I would definitely expect at least 30 fps in all scenarios.
     
  4. gamerz thread starter macrumors 6502

    gamerz

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    #4
    What kind of mac book do you have? And what specs do you have on it... im just trying to look for a good cheap mac that can run world of warcraft well... or wihtout errors or lags.
     
  5. AoWolf macrumors 6502a

    AoWolf

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Daytona Beach
    #5
    You need more ram. Other then that you are fine. Think of it a a whole system upgrade. Get at least 1.5gigs.
     
  6. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #6
    This iMac should handle WoW just fine gamerz, but as others have said go for more RAM (at least 1GB). :)
     
  7. ijimk macrumors 6502a

    ijimk

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Location:
    Here
    #7
    I have to agree with most of the other posts, I would try to get it up to 1 gig in ram. I don't think they have released the system specs for the burning crusade but i suspect them to be very similar. Has anyone here seen the collectors edition for it? I for one think it looks awesome.:D
     
  8. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #8
    It won't play just right. you need the fax functionality.
     
  9. bokdol macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #9
    RAM.as everyone pointed out. makes such a big difference in the game. will at least from 512. anything over 1 gig will do you fine
     
  10. Abulia macrumors 68000

    Abulia

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Kushiel's Scion
    #10
    Bluetooth.

    That's at least another 20 fps right there.
     
  11. it5five macrumors 65816

    it5five

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    New York
    #11
    No floppy drive may set you back 10fps or so. I'd pick up an external one if you really want to play WoW.
     
  12. ijimk macrumors 6502a

    ijimk

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Location:
    Here
    #12
    i hear not having a 56k modem will set u back 10-15 fps as well. :p
     
  13. EvryDayImShufln macrumors 65816

    EvryDayImShufln

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #13
    Once you add all those missing accessories you should be at a solid 500 FPS
     
  14. gamerz thread starter macrumors 6502

    gamerz

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    #14
    Thanks... but will it run fine wiht only the 512 mb of ram?
     
  15. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #15
    It runs Ok.... on a MACBOOK with a 512 of ram.
     
  16. gamerz thread starter macrumors 6502

    gamerz

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    #16
    hmm... interesting... what are your specs of your macbook also? and how many fps do you get in differnt places?
     
  17. robo74 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Location:
    Near Chicago
    #17
    I have the same iMac. But I have 1 gig of ram.

    WOW runs really good, somtimes I prefer to use boot camp and run windows, as WOW runs a bit better under widows.

    But you should do just fine. If you can afford it, run 1.5GB ram or 2 and you would be all set.

    Good luck and have fun!


    Rob
     
  18. Xeem macrumors 6502a

    Xeem

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #18
    I've played WoW on 256 MB of RAM (Specifically, Athlon XP 1700, 256 MB RAM, GeForce2 Ti). Not great, but definitely playable. Unfortunately, WoW really does like Windows more than Macs (my iBook w/1.5 GB RAM seems to have an easier time with H.A.L.O. than with WoW!), but yours should handle WoW fine even with 512 MB RAM.
     
  19. gamerz thread starter macrumors 6502

    gamerz

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    #19
    are there some small memory sticks or somethign that i could plug in to get better performance for gamming? And how much would 1 be to boost my 512mb to 1.5 or 2 mb?
     
  20. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #20
    Huge.
     
  21. gamerz thread starter macrumors 6502

    gamerz

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    #21
    huge??? Im sorry but i dont understand very well...
     
  22. thechris69 macrumors 6502

    thechris69

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    #22
    can someone please elaborate what this means? does bluetooth actually give u 20 fps? is this true?
     
  23. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #23
    Lol!

    He/she was just being a smart@#$.
     
  24. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #24
    Can someone who actually plays WoW on a MacBook Pro please post their avereage FPS?
     

Share This Page