Worth Jumping to 2gig of Ram?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by alienmac, Jul 16, 2006.

  1. alienmac macrumors member

    alienmac

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego
    #1
    I own a Powerbook 1.67GHz currently with 1 gig of Ram. I am wondering if 2gig will make my laptop "snappier". What I mean by that is, panels and applications opening faster. An all around quicker feel I guess. I just feel like there is a slight pause after every command. Is this slight pause a "mac" thing?

    Does anybody here have 1st hand experience going from 1gig to 2gig's?
    I do have the 7200 rpm harddrive, I use Photoshop and Flash. No games or Video Editing. If you guys think its a somewhat noticeable difference, I will head out and buy it today.
     
  2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    That depends. if you download menumeters http://www.ragingmenace.com/software/menumeters/ then go into the system preferences and activate the memory one. If you click on it and it says you have like 10MB free in the "Memory Pages" then you will notice a difference when upgrading if that is the normal memory usage.
     
  3. HGW macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    #3
    that much ram only makes things quicker that are opening for a second time.

    check with the activity moniter on the ram usage youve got at the moment, if it fills out, buy a new stick
     
  4. buffalo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs / Ohio
    #4
    Where can I find the activity moniter? I'm having trouble locating it.
     
  5. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #5
    Photoshop & flash are both ram hOgZ :p so yea, bumpin/maxin da ram WILL make a big difference, as will having a 7200rpm HDD. But if you can, get an external Firewire HDD to use as a PS Scratch disk ( and set your prefs to use it), it would help even more......

    And no, the pause is not a mac thing per se, just an unfortunate side effect of ever increasing memory demands of both applications and the OS as well. Are you running 10.4.7 ? And have you done any routine maintenance ?

    Not too long ago, I went from 1 GB to 2GB in my sawtooth DP/450 and it made a world of difference in everything, especially PS, but then again, I run everything from 3x SATA Raptor HDDs too....... :D
     
  6. mmmcheese macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #6
    I went from 1GB to 2GB on my MBP, and it was totally worth it. I'm not sure that my experience applies to you though. I find it helps the most when using PPC apps because Rosetta is such a resource hog. If you find that you tend to leave lots of applications open, and switch between them rather than closing and opening them, you might find it's worth it.

    Not sure if this helps, but that's what I have found.
     
  7. Miguey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    So Cal 909
    #7
    harddrive/applications/utilities/activity monitor
     
  8. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #8
    When I went from 1GB -> 2GB of RAM in my 2.3GHz DP Power Mac G5 I thought that I noticed a decent increase in speed/the snappiness of the machine. :)
     
  9. CrEsTo macrumors 6502

    CrEsTo

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    Always buy all the RAM you can afford, specially with Photoshop.
     
  10. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #10

    Very true CrEsTo, more RAM will definitely help out performance in Photoshop. :)
     
  11. rockandrule macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #11
    I went from 1GB to 2GBs on my 1.67Ghz PowerBook. It's a world of a difference in Photoshop, that's for sure.
     
  12. Obsidian6 macrumors 6502a

    Obsidian6

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laguna Niguel, CA
    #12

    the location was given above,

    but just a easy tip to remember. if you are having trouble finding anything, simply open up spotlight ( cmd + spacebar ) and type in what you are looking for, it will located it for you, and even show you where it is :)

    oh and yes, you will notice a difference in photoshop. i upgraded from 1Gb to 2Gb on my previous powerbook, and i certainly felt a difference.

    im going to get a second 1Gb stick for my current PB. i only wish i had a 7200rpm drive like you ;)
     
  13. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #13
    Or just type into Spotlight: "act" and the activity monitor will be the first hit;)
     
  14. Miguey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    So Cal 909
  15. buffalo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs / Ohio
    #15
    Dang- forgot about the usefulness of Spotlight. Thanks!

    It says I have 173mb free memory with AIM, Mail, Safari, and the Activity Moniter open. Is it finally time to stick more than the stock 512 RAM in my G5 iMac.
     

Share This Page