would both drive doors open?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by ump3, Aug 12, 2003.

  1. macrumors member

    ump3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    #1
    I've got a G4 quiksilver, if I installed another CD/DVD drive into the box what would happen when I pressed the eject button? would both doors/drives open?

    thanks
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #2
    if you got it in (is it possible? thought it was MDDs only ...) you press Eject for your first drive and option-Eject for your second. It is ok - alot of people use the Eject.menu (search your boot HD for it) menu extra from Apple though.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    ump3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    #3
    what is MDD?

    how do I enable the Eject.menu, I found it on my HD. its just a folder by the look of it.

    thanks
     
  4. TEG
    macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #4
    I suggest using the Eject Menu for multiple drives. Also, are you going to be able to have a dropping door so that the drive looks well at works.

    TEG
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #5
    -ump3

    MDD stands for "Mirrored Drive Door" and is the last of the G4's - they had bays for two optical drives.

    To enable eject.menu, double click it. You should then see the eject symbol to the left of the clock in the menu bar.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    ump3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    #6
    I see...

    I have the previous G4 to the MDD, the one with the matt grey front panel (and 2 CD/DVD drive bays).

    I've enabled the Eject.menu by double clicking, but how do I get rid of it? I haven't got the second drive yet. Also why does Eject.menu look like a folder? is it an app?

    thanks
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #7
    -ump3

    Cmd-Click-Drag it off the menu - it'll disappear in a puff. You can rearrange your menu extras using Cmd-Click-Drag the same way.

    Good question on why it looks like a folder - probably good as a generic icon.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    #8
    THat's kind of weird, I'm looking at mine now, and I don't see another bay. I guess you could get one into the zip drive bay, but that would take some handiwork.

    THe reason it looks like a folder is this:
    There are things on OS X called bundles. These are essentially folders with extentions, which act depending on their extention.

    That's the short version... the reason that folder works as an eject menu is because it has that .menu extention. When you double click on it, the system says "ok, it's a menu extention" and then expects certain files to be inside which dictate how the menu works. So, if you wanted, if you took off the .menu extention, it would act like a normal folder! Conversely, if you copy the contents of the .menu file into a regular folder, then give it a .menu extention, then it has just become the same menu program. Crazy, huh? If you want to see the files inside some of these bundles, or packages, right click (control-click) on the icon, and go to "show package contents", and you'll see the files inside of it.

    Other instances of these packages:
    applications built with project builder (Carbon and Cocoa apps built with pbuilder)
    menu applications
    konfabulator widgets (www.konfabulator.com for details, before you ask what it does)
    other stuff
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    ump3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    #9
    how do I get rid of the menu? will it go after a restart?

    thanks
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #10
    -ump3

    Cmd-Click-Drag it off the menu onto the desktop.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    zarathustra

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #11
    As someone else said, you cannot install a second drive in a Quickslver. The second opening was for a ZIP drive. To be able to have a second drive you have to hack away on the inside of the enclosure, and you won't have the plastic door, like on the upper CD drive. It would be a hole and you could see the actual drive behind it. AFAIK.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors member

    ump3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    #12
    You'll probably have gathered I hadn't opened the second door on my G4 before (I've even still got the clear tape holding the door shut from the factory), I just presumed it was an empty CD drive bay! :eek:

    its a Zip drive bay then? nice! do people still use those? (did they a year and a bit ago when I bought my G4?)

    thanks anyway.
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #13
    -ump3

    The Quicksilver was the last G4 to have a bay with a ZIP drive in mind. ZIP pretty much vanished overnight when CDR's hit critical mass. 1.5 years ago, ZIPs were still fairly common, but with the MDD's last summer - they're gone.

    Don't bother with the bay - save your pennies.
     

Share This Page