Would it be possible to enable AWS HSPA+ on an unlocked iPhone 5?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mossme89, Feb 21, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #1
    I haven't heard much about this, but am curious. The AT&T and unlocked iphone models (A1428) support LTE on band 4 (LTE). Since LTE is backwards compatible with GSM and HSPA, it seems like Apple disabled this feature as the iPhone only gets EDGE on 1900 on T-Mobile. Would it be possible to enable AWS HSPA+ through a jailbreak tweak or a custom ipsw or something?
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #2
    Nope. Not yet.
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #3
    There is no possible way to use AWS HSPA+ on the iPhone. If you're using T-Mobile and want 3G then you must be in one of the areas where they have refarmed the 1900mhz band for HSPA+. If not then you are stuck with Edge until they refarm your area.

    Unofficial map here:
    www.airportal.de
     
  4. macrumors demi-god

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    Not until T-Mobile launches their iPhone even though the baseband chip supports those frequencies its not activated to do so
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #5
    I know it's not presently possible, I just was wondering if it's possible someone could make a jailbreak tweak to enable it, or that Apple could enable it via an update.
     
  6. macrumors demi-god

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Apple may enable it but I doubt it.Baseband chips are highly secure so I dont think we will see a tweak that would turn it on
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #7
    What about LTE. There's a way to get the toggle and enable it on T-Mobile, but does that mean you can get LTE on T-Mobile?

    There's a thread here on another forum. A guy made a custom carrier bundle to enable the LTE toggle switch. Just wondering if LTE accessibility also falls under the baseband or if it is in fact possible to enable it via a carrier bundle. Or, if this is just a dead toggle switch.
     
  8. macrumors demi-god

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    LTE should be possible seeing as T-Mobile is launching it on the same frequencies as AT&T no tricks needed but they dont have LTE yet except for a few site in vegas
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #9
    Gotcha. Still might be worth waiting for.
     
  10. macrumors demi-god

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    Once its launched it will work
     
  11. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    There's no radio chip there with that band to enable anything.
    That's like saying can you install a software hack to make your vcr play DVD's
    The bands needed for the iphone to access Tmobile USA's are not present on any current iphone model. There's no hacking or a software update from Apple that will change that besides Apple releasing an iphone that will work on Tmobiles 3G bands.
    Your type of question has been asked since the iphone 3G came out people thinking if you JB it you can make it get 3G on Tmobile.
    To make a long story short answer is no.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #12
    Right, but it supports AWS LTE and since LTE is backwards compatible, makes me wonder if it supports AWS HSPA+ too.
     
  13. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    Not in the bands needed though for tmobiles hspa+ it's the same bands as their tmobile 3G obviously.
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #14
    Why do you think they're backwards compatible?
     
  15. macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    上海 (Shanghai)
    #15
    The frequency is the same does not mean the signal encoding is the same.

    LTE can fall back to HSPA, but it doesn't mean it has to the same frequency.

    Cellular signals are not like tuning into your favorite radio channel. Think of it as your cable is using copper wiring and so is your home telephone. You can't plug one into the other and expect it it to just work. Sure someone could produce a piece of hardware that could do this conversion. This conversion requires hardware changes, which is not the same as a software change (tweak, firmware, etc.)
     
  16. macrumors demi-god

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NYC
    #16
    AJ the baseband of the 4S does have AWS support its just not active
    http://www.lockergnome.com/mobile/2011/11/29/renewed-hope-for-an-iphone-on-t-mobile/

    ----------

    While the support for T-Mobile’s AWS band may exist at the hardware level, the software on the device must still be configured for the appropriate wireless bands. Fixing this isn’t as simple as jailbreaking your iPhone and flipping a setting, however. The configuration for the bands is most likely hard-coded into the firmware on the chip when the device is assembled at the factory....Hardware wise it does support the required bands
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    chestvrg

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    #17
    I'm using tmobile now and in my area I get 3G speeds. Do not know if these speeds count as HSPA+ but they are fast. Take a look at these crazy speeds on 3G. ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361584571.453757.jpg
     
  18. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #18
    Interesting. That article talks about the 4S but even if its there on the i5 like you said its not something you can change or edit with a JB.
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    yeah

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #19
    T-Mobile LTE: Band 4 AWS 1700/2100 MHz
    T-Mobile's old 3G/4G: 1700/2100 MHz
    T-Mobile's new 3G/4G: 1900 MHz
    EDGE will stay at 1900 MHz

    So from the iPhone 3G onward it can support T-Mobile's new 3G/4G and the iPhone 5 can and will support T-Mobile's LTE once they enable it via software.

    :D

    (I'm a T-Mobile customer waiting for an iPhone 5 to fall into my :apple: hands)
     
  20. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #20
    Wanted to bump this thread after today. The new A1428 is literally the same phone as the old one, but with a new firmware. Do you think jailbreakers will find a way to activate the dormant AWS HSPA+ on current A1428 iPhones?
     
  21. macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #21
    The new unlocked iPhone model WILL have support for AWS HSPA+ (1700/2100 MHz). Just look everywhere on this forum, other forums, news reporting sites and you'll see that both T-Mobile's CEO and apple has acknowledged this

    edit: misread your question. And no, I doubt there will be a way to enable AWS HSPA+ on current unlocked iPhones. Not very optimistic about this happening. But I could be wrong and if proven wrong, that would be nice.
     
  22. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #22
    No.
    Its something that has to be hardcoded during production.
    If it could be changed later Apple would have done it via a firmware update.
    The JB cannot alter that deep/low level hardware on the device.
     
  23. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #23
    I wish they had some sort of trade-in program.
     
  24. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #24
    I heard Tmobile will have something like that but the value you get with trade in programs like that is low. Then they sell it themselves for a profit.
    You will get the most out of it if you sell it yourself. iPhones are hot items so shouldn't be that hard.
     
  25. macrumors regular

    denaliOnDubs

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Location:
    CO
    #25
    I read somewhere that according to the new FCC Filing there was no hardware change on the A1428 just software that enabled 1700mhz aws for tmobile. The components are the same. Maybe a baseband update in the future?
     

Share This Page