would like to add memory to the mac pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by vance09, May 25, 2011.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    #1
    I have the macpro 2-2.26 quad core intel w/8gb(4x2gb) and have 2 slots open i would to add another 8gigs has anyone done this outside of apple ie like ordering from canada computers
    thanks
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    If you get 1066Mhz DDR3 RAM which is meant for the 2009? mac pro, then it will work. Its really easy to install.
    dont know about Canada Computers, you can just go on amazon if ur not sure about Canada Computers
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    #3
    If you really have the dual quad 2.26ghz 2009 Mac Pro, and you really have 4x2GB sticks, then you have 4 slots available, not 2.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #4
    Yeh i was thinking about how that adds up :D
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #5
    maybe he meant per processor and that is why he wanted to add another 8 gigs (4x2GB)
     
  6. vance09, May 25, 2011
    Last edited: May 25, 2011

    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    #6
    adding memory

    yes i probably do mean 4 slots as there is 2 processors,i only looked at one but i appreciate the info and will try a search for the memory
    any place else where i could get this memory

    also i looked at one of the chip sets and it says
    Mt18jsf25672az-1g1d1 0926
    2gb 2rx8 pc3 8500e 7 10 e0
    also opened the case again and popped then drawer and yes i need 4 sets of chips 2gig each

    and would this work ok Kingston 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model KVR1066D3N7K2/4G
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #7
    This one would work: http://www.amazon.ca/Super-Talent-D...1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1306366482&sr=8-1
    they only have 1 left :( i posted it so you know which to get. I put extra samsung RAM into my 2x2.26 mac pro (same as yours) works well. Im not sure if Super Talent is a good brand.
    Sorry i dont know where to get RAM in Canada
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    #8
    memory adding

    thanks for the info ,i may have to wait until there are more as i would need 4 or 2 sets
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #9
  10. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    #10
    thanks for the interest and help

    I have ordered the memory this morning ,appreciate the direction and assurance---always nervous about adding memory(conflicts)
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #11
    sounds good :) yeh makes sense, best to check before buying it.
    When you have installed the RAM, your mac pro will most likely show a special window, telling you in what slots to put the memory in order to achieve the best performance :)
     

Share This Page