Would the new MBA be able to...

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Broph, Jul 22, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Broph

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #1
    Would the new MBA be able to run AutoCAD / 3Ds Max Design / Photoshop / Dreamweaver sweet as?

    Stream HD movies to Apple TV sweet as?

    Cheers,
    Broph.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Yes, but with such a small resolution it would suck unless you have an external display.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Broph

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    Yeah, sorry forgot to mention it would be plugged in to an external display & just tucked under the desk or something.

    My current laptop (4 years old) has a GeekBench score of 2600... Should I trust GeekBench scores to give me an indication of how all of these will run?

    I.E. Since the new MBA is about 6000, should I expect quite a performance difference using these applications?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    the 13 colonies
    #4
    I would think so...I'm no expert on these things but it really does appear that today's Sandy Bridge CPUs are leaps and bounds ahead of anything from 4 years ago, including these low voltage chips--hell the 1.7Ghz i5 on the Air trounces the 3509 Geekbench score of my C2D 2.53Ghz Mid 2009 MBP with a 5860--that even surpasses the 2.67Ghz core i7 in the 2010 MBPs....

    I think you should expect a massive improvement....
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    #5
    I also really want to know... I have to use solidworks next year in college, this means I have to use boothcamp to run a 3D intensive program. Is there already someone with a new mba who has experience running a 3D intensive program with bootcamp? Would like to know if these new little beasts are capable enough ;)
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #6
    doesn't ventilation get blocked if the lid is closed?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Broph

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    Not sure, does it?
     
  8. macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #8
    No, it does not.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #9
    Indeed, the hinge is round next to the fan intake (aeration angle) regardless in which positioning the screen is.

    The only "non round" bit is where the screen is attached to the hinge, but this is always away from the fan intake.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    #10
    The 2010 Air could do this.
     
  11. macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #11
    The 2011 air is on par with the first gen I series processors. It shouldnt have a problem.
     

Share This Page