Would this 24" iMac be worth it?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by ronni3, Dec 26, 2006.

1. ronni3 macrumors regular

I recently joined the Student ADC program and am currently looking to purchase a new Mac with my hardware discount. You could pretty much say I am new to the Mac world, but I did have an Apple IIe some time ago. I have also dabbled with other peoples Macs but have never gotten seriously into it because, well, it wasn't mine to do whatever with.

This is what I am looking at. I wanted some opinions and whether or not this would be a good setup. Keep in mind, I am an avid gamer AND I am coming from a Windows world. My setup with a PC consisted of a kick-a$$ machine all custom-built, but I sold all that to go Mac, and so I can have my 4 year old son play on the computer. I never liked that with a PC he just had to press a few random keys and he would, most likely, end up unleashing hell on Windows, plus whenever we went to the Apple Store he was overjoyed to play the kid games.

Anyways, take a look at my 24" iMac configuration and let me know if this is a good idea. Oh, and I don't expect this system to compare to my old PC, I just want something that will allow me to play most, if not all, Mac games, and probably a few PC games using either Boot Camp or Parallels (if possible?).

• 2.33GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    • 2GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x1GB
    • 500GB Serial ATA Drive
    • NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GT 256MB SDRAM
    • SuperDrive 8X (DVD+R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
    • Apple Keyboard & Mighty Mouse + Mac OS X (US English)
    • 24-inch widescreen LCD
    • AirPort Extreme
    • Bluetooth 2.0 + EDR

Final Price: Approx. $2,650

2. Maxwell Smart macrumors 6502a

Maxwell Smart

To be honest, if you're going to spend all that money, why not get a 2.0Ghz Mac Pro and a widescreen dell monitor and be able to upgrade your machine.

3. iW00t macrumors 68040

iW00t

I vote for Maxwell Smart's Mac Pro comment too.

IMO Mac Pros...
    1. Hold value better