would you buy a cinema display, or wait?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by creativeNRG, Mar 14, 2007.

1. creativeNRG macrumors newbie

im about to purchase a 17in macbook pro bc my old 15in powerbook just died basically. i was thinking to add a display to work a little better at home (bc originally i was going to get the g5 but decided a laptop might be better). Im a freelance graphic designer so the screen would help, but there are rumors new displays might appear. what would you do?

2. roland.g macrumors 603

roland.g

I would wait, I don't expect they will go too much longer without an update, most likely with new Mac Pro 8-cores possibly at NAB in early April or maybe sooner.

3. creativeNRG thread starter macrumors newbie

i guess i should wait. maybe by upgrading to the 17in it will give me atleast a little more screen to design so i would be ok for a little while.

4. cubbie5150 macrumors 6502a

I was wondering the same thing, but ACDs are so expensive, I haven't been willing to pony-up the cash yet. My local CompUSA is closing, & they had the ACD's for 10% off; this store is supposedly going to remain open only as long as they have appreciable inventory. I'll make another visit today or tomorrow, and if they have a further markdown in price (say, 20% off), I'll probably just go ahead & buy one.

5. creativeNRG thread starter macrumors newbie

if they were cheaper that would be a different story possibly. where is that comp usa located?

6. cubbie5150 macrumors 6502a

It's in Omaha, NE, but I read that CompUSA is closing down something like 130 stores nationwide...

7. djkny macrumors 6502

Wait until after 4/15, NAB & Tax day. You'll feel better that way.
    Ponying up for a $599 Apple 20" LCD?? No way, no how.

8. erickkoch macrumors 6502a