WOW 1920 * 1200 Res

Discussion in 'Games' started by combatcolin, Nov 6, 2005.

  1. combatcolin macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #1
    Anyone out there playing WOW at the res on a Mac?

    If so what are your FPS and what are you running it on?

    At this res on my PC i get 2 FPS:eek:
     
  2. Melkor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
  3. 1nsanity macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    #3
    Hello,

    I tried my friends account on my pc(he came and installed the game) since I really wanted to test my new rig.

    I had never seen wow in real before(other than screen shots and video).

    At 1920x1200 it ran smooooooooooth.
    My friend played with the settings eveything was set to max detals.

    I was impressed, it's just too bad that by precaution I prefer to stay away from Wow, wouldn't want to fall in love with the game.

    Test were performed on a pc:
    Amd dual core 3800 X2
    OCZ 2gig ddr400 (2x1)
    Evga 7800 GT CO
    Dell 24fpw
     
  4. davidcb13 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    #4
    Amazing system you've got there. Im assuming home built. How much did the final cost come out to be?
     
  5. combatcolin thread starter macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #5
    Did you catch the frame rate?

    CTR + R to bring it up?

    Intrested in finding out what a PowerMac can put out with a proper (not standard) card.
     
  6. 1nsanity macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    #6

    No since I had no clue that I could calculte the framerate....

    I can always ask my friend to do so on his pc.
    His specs are lower but still very decent for WoW on PC.
    Amd 3000
    1gig ram
    Geforce 6600gt (not to mistake with apple's powermac 6600LE)
     
  7. 1nsanity macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    #7
    Thank you

    Around 1600$ CAD at ncix.com

    I was lucky enough to get really good prices on the parts I wanted.
    Plus shipping was like 5.99 total for total shipping load under 200lbs. 6$CAD for shipping the entire comp, thats cheap!!
     
  8. Capt Underpants macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #8
    Please do. I have that same system, and have been wondering how well WoW will play on it.
     
  9. 1nsanity macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    #9
  10. ReSiDeNtGrOuCh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    New Yawk, NY
    #10
    I play Battlefield 2 and Wolfenstein: Enemy-Territory on my kickass setup at 1920 * 1200 max resolution and it runs awesome.

    I've got the Dell 2405FPW, Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB, and 2GB of Samsung ram. Simply amazing :)
     
  11. GbV76 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #11
    Well whatever you do, don't try and play at 1920x1200 on a PB 12" 1.33. When I set it at that resolution I'm lucky to stay above 10fps. I love this shiny little powerbook, but it's definitely not for hardcore gaming.
     
  12. norinradd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Location:
    Essex, England
    #12
    I play this res on a 23 ACD, Dual 1.8 G5 with 3.5g ram and a X800 and with mid to high settings get 35-60 fps depending on where i am and how busy it is, i find it very playable.
     
  13. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #13
    You should try to go in IF with the settings all turned to maximum.;)
     
  14. combatcolin thread starter macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #14
    3 and a half Gigs of RAM??

    :eek:

    Don't suppose you could run a quick test to see how it runs with just a Gig?
     
  15. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #15
    That really doesnt matter. A few games take more than 768 MB of RAM, so even if you have 16 gigs you wouldn't notice any difference
     
  16. combatcolin thread starter macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #16
    Cool, thanks.

    3and a half Gigs, now thats just showing off!;)
     
  17. Abulia macrumors 68000

    Abulia

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Kushiel's Scion
    #17
    I play at 1680 x 1050 (I think) w/ an ATI x800 video card and WoW is silky-smooth. I can grab a framerate tonight, but I'd suspect it's a lot like norinradd's (35-60fps).
     
  18. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #18
    On a 1.8Ghz iMac (old version with fx5200) wow runs around 20-30 fps usually, in crowded areas and intensive figths (Razorgore figth with 40 mobs and same amount of players running around :DD) it sometimes drops even below 10FPS
     
  19. polyethyleneguy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Location:
    Florida
    #19
    You're kidding right? The 12" powerbook can't produce a resolution over 1024x768. You would go blind if you could display 1920x1200 on it.:eek:
     
  20. Jimong5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    #20

    external monitor.
     
  21. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #21
    Thats on external monitor, goof ;)
     

Share This Page